Underclocking failure.

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by draexo, Mar 24, 2011.

  1. draexo
    Offline

    draexo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    I stopped underclocking/undervolting my Ed Global and the battery last longer using stock governor and I do not get the lag I had. So...stock battery management is better? What gives?

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    How did you set up your under clocking. Did you try using Droid Overclock and then just pick a low votage kernel and under clock with it instead of overclock.
  3. rusty815
    Offline

    rusty815 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you may have undervolted a it too much, i know that if i undervolt too much my phone gets all laggy and stops functioning properly
  4. draexo
    Offline

    draexo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    I tried them all...(Set CPU, Droid Overclock, and Quickclock).
    I finally settled on QuickClock and set it for "Battery Saver"
    Sometimes when I rebooted, Droid Overclock would not load. One day I noticed I had 80% battery at the end of my day... something that just does not happen. That is when I noticed Droid Overclock had not loaded on my previous reboot the night before. SO I started watching and messing around with it. Seems I get better battery life out of stock Froyo battery life. Makes no sense to me. It is a modest increase, but an increase non-the-less.
    Any ideas? Could it be QuickClock is actually using more battery than it is saving?
  5. draexo
    Offline

    draexo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Not sure what is going on, but apparently I switched options and cause stock to work better than undervolting. I am going to mess with increasing voltage a little at a time.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  6. draexo
    Offline

    draexo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    this is too much....battery is great!

    Again, it happened today.
    QuickClock failed to load after boot. Battery at 90% after 13hrs.

    Here is a picture when it finally dropped to 80%.

    Notice the time - almost 15 hrs unplugged and I am at 80%. I was at 90% until sometime between 14hrs 30 minutes and the time I took this screen shot.

    And this is a rooted stock D2Global with extended battery. I have never had battery life like this before. It is last much longer than it used to.
    It always seems to be when QuickClock fails to load AND when I am at work.

    I almost wonder if there is a new cell tower near my work and I am getting better signal and not transmitting on as much power. Could it be that? I've had this phone 2 months and never had such good battery life.

    I am going to try some experiments and see what happens with underclocking vs stock.
  7. rusty815
    Offline

    rusty815 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you dont seem to use your phone much if the screen is taking up that much battery :p

    im a heavy user, i mean really heavy, on average the screen takes up like 60% of my battery because i use it so much, and i still manage to get 8-12 hours on a charge, that is with the standard battery. im sure if i use my phone a lot less then i can get a full day out of it.
  8. draexo
    Offline

    draexo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    I really think it has something to do with transmission power to get to the cell tower.
    This is only happening at work.
  9. tebower
    Offline

    tebower New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't speak directly about what is happening with your phone, but I thought I would add my similar experience. I had SetCPU installed, and set up profiles for when the screen was off, the phone was charging, etc, to cut the processor down to 600mhz. My battery life sucked and the phone was laggy. So, I turned off the profiles, and uninstalled setcpu, and my battery life is much better. I didn't track it in any specific way, but this seems to have happened at the same time you were having your issues, which I found interesting. I have never changed voltages or what not, only clock speeds. My battery life is much better without underclocking.
  10. draexo
    Offline

    draexo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    I am starting to think that the underclocking is a scam.
  11. apollyon0810
    Offline

    apollyon0810 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, Oh
    Looks like you've just been sitting idle for 15 hours. Nothing definitive there. Just another post by draexo... if you've seen one you've seen em all.
  12. apollyon0810
    Offline

    apollyon0810 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, Oh
    Also, and correct me if I'm wrong, you're just messing around with the factory clock steppings. Unless you have kernel access, you can't under- or over-volt. Hell, with a locked bootloader you cant even over clock. So why mess around with what the kernel will try to do normally?

    All you're doing by underclocking it is throttling the speed back to one of the factory speed steppings. Voltage remains the same.
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2011
  13. rusty815
    Offline

    rusty815 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    exactly right, you cant change the clock settings or voltage unless you use the expirimental module that is in jrummy's droid overclock app, i use it to overclock to 1.35GHz and undervolt as well, saves battery life and makes it run faster.
  14. leobg
    Offline

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    rusty, what settings you use in jrummy's app? Anything I try regarding overclock in it reboots the phone.
  15. rusty815
    Offline

    rusty815 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well it depends on your system whether or not you can oc and how much, here's the custom settings I made:

    300mhz, 15mhz
    700mhz, 35mhz
    1000mhz, 50mhz
    1350mhz, 67mhz

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  16. leobg
    Offline

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I assume you meant mV (voltage) - right?

    The bad thing about Jrummy's app is that D2G has 5 frequency slots - defaults are 300,600,800,1000,1200 while the OC reduces them to 4. Nobody seems to know what stock voltages are either...
  17. rusty815
    Offline

    rusty815 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, the stock voltages are something like 45mV, 65mV, 74mV and 82mV, so I cut down the voltages quite a bit, you gotta make compromises I guess

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  18. leobg
    Offline

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Out of curiosity, what Linpack and Quadrant scores you get?

    Not that I think D2G needs overclocking, but just for the sport I am trying.
    I decided to try Milestone Overclock (which supports Droid2 Global), module is newer version than Jrummy's (1.4.8 v.s. 1.4.6.xx). When JRummy's module loads, frequency slots become 4 (cannot use all 5). Milestone overclock updates just the fastest slot (not touching the other 4). So I set Milestone Overclock to 1350MHz@65mV - now phone scales between 300,600,800,1000 and 1350. I use Jrummy's app profiles function only (module disabled). Linpack gives me consistently 18.5K+ and Quadrant - consistently around 1800
    With Jrummy's I get 1700 on Quadrant and around 17K (consistently) on Linpack.
    Feels like Milestone Overclock's module is better optimized.
  19. rusty815
    Offline

    rusty815 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i didnt use milestone overclock but with droid overclock i get 1750-1900, which is really good considering im undervolting as well, with heavy use my standard battery lasts 8 hours, normal use is about 12-14 hours