Unable to upgrade to 9.1.6

Discussion in 'RAZR HD and RAZR HD MAXX Support' started by chetta, May 15, 2013.

  1. chetta
    Offline

    chetta New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alright so a little history.

    Had SafeStrap installed this AM. Trying to check out some other new ROMs and found out that SafeStrap is discontinued and to utilize Unlocked Bootloader & TWRP.
    I did all my app/sms/call backups then...
    Deleted the ROMs I had and uninstalled SafeStrap. Reset my phone to factory.
    My current Android Vs is 4.1.1.

    When I try to update to 4.1.6, my update downloads fully but unable to install the update after repeated tries.
    The phone reboots and Android Symbol with process bars appears but then a reboot and switch to recovery symbol. Then reboot and back to phone boot up and "unable to upgrade" notification appears.

    I have tried to do a temp unroot but the same results occurred.

    I believe I need to use RSDLite to return to stock firmware? I am unable to find a functioning download to the stock firmware though...

    Any additional thoughts?

    Thanks
  2. GoCliffGo05
    Offline

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    Stay on 4.1.1 is my opinion. The bootloader unlock works on 4.1.1 and the beauty of an unlocked bootloader is that that you can flash custom kernels via TWRP and are included in most, if not all custom ROMs. No need to upgrade the stock firmware. Not to mention any future OTA's (4.1.2 not included) will most likely bork the unlockability anyway.

    If you INSIST on upgrading, then did you remove any bloat? And if you want to go straight to 4.1.2 use Matt's utility... Let me find a link.

    http://www.droidrzr.com/index.php/topic/16100-droid-razr-hd-utility-120-windowsmaclinux/
    Last edited: May 15, 2013
  3. chetta
    Offline

    chetta New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for quick reply. I was having issues getting my bootloader unlocked when following instructions from http://www.droidforums.net/forum/ra...938-tool-easy-unlock-bootloader-komplete.html

    As mentioned I removed all of SafeStrap as described in the instructions.

    Turned on USB Debugging
    Connected USB to PC ensuring drivers loaded
    Run the run.bat in Recovery Flasher V3
    Use option 1 for TWRP
    Results are...
    Connecting to your phone
    Let's Do this
    /system/bin/sh: su: not found
    3615 KB/s (7606272 bytes in 2.054s)
    /system/bin/sh: su: not found
    /system/bin/sh: su: not found
    Complete
    Press any key to continue . . .

    Phone reboots into recovery.

    What am I doing wrong here?

    Thanks again.

  4. GoCliffGo05
    Offline

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    Wait, you're trying to install a recovery BEFORE you unlocked the bootloader? Unlock first. The Motopocalypse zip.
  5. chetta
    Offline

    chetta New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ugh. Think I got it now. Thanks again.

  6. GoCliffGo05
    Offline

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    No worries. :)
  7. WildKid
    Offline

    WildKid New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    And you just voided your warranty because then there is no way to re-lock it and return it to stock firmware.
  8. GoCliffGo05
    Offline

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,823
    Likes Received:
    313
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    That's clearly stated in the thread he is following. You can not relock it, but you can return to stock firmware whenever you want.
Search tags for this page

cox email

,

motopocolypse 9.1.6