Ubuntu/linux

swagmonster

Reaction score
Total noob want to try it out....use it on a disk or just run it on my harddrive versions to use and all that jaz thanx in advance

Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App

RW-1

Silver Member
Reaction score
What's your question?

You can download ubuntu and create a CD, and test drive it off that if you wish on any PC / Laptop without even actually installing it.

OP
swagmonster

swagmonster

Reaction score
My question is what is some of the general things I'm going to need to know such as is it massivly different than windows

Abe21599

Super Moderator
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
just play around with it. ubuntu is pretty user friendly so just take the time to get acclimated to it

OP
swagmonster

swagmonster

Reaction score
If I don't use a cd and just my laptop can I switch back and forth between windows and ubuntu

boostedhonda

Reaction score
If I don't use a cd and just my laptop can I switch back and forth between windows and ubuntu

Yeah u can partion your hard drive and dual boot.

Sent From My Gingerbread Droid 1

1linuxfreak

Reaction score
I am not a U fan , try Fedora (Red Hat) or Mint (although Mint is based off Ubuntu , it is a better Ubuntu) , openSUSE is a great distro but slightly harder than the others (Slackware derivative) , Slackware is good as well , or Debian proper which are the more geek of the distros , but two of the oldest distros still around . Go to http://www.distrowatch.com lots of different distros there .
Ubuntu has not been around that long and has some bad habits it teaches , it is not the easiest as it claims but has good Community Support (makes me ask if it the best then why does it have so many problems ?) .

Ubuntu the Microsoft and iPhone of Linux .

My $.02

1linuxfreak

Reaction score
My question is what is some of the general things I'm going to need to know such as is it massivly different than windows