[Tutorial] Replacing built-in ringtones (root required)

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by eMWu, Mar 23, 2011.

  1. eMWu
    Offline

    eMWu New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been looking for a way to keep my custom ringtone, regardless of the sd card I'm using and if it's accessible at the moment. So I figured out an easy way to do this and I thought I'd share it.

    1. Convert your ringtone to ogg format (for example with fre:ac)
    2. Copy the ogg file to your sd card
    3. Download and install this app: Mount /system (rw / ro). Run it and click "Mount r/w".
    4. Open a file explorer with root support (like Yaffs Explorer) and navigate to /system/media/audio/ringtones/
    3 & 4 can be done with just Root Explorer/SU File Manager & Terminal (I think), but they're not free.
    5. Pick a ringtone you want replaced - for example Cairo.ogg. Rename it to Cairo-old.ogg and then copy your custom ringtone to /system/media/audio/ringtones/ and rename it to Cairo.ogg

    Now your custom ringtone will be available in the phone's sound settings under the replaced one's name.

    This should also work with alarm sounds (/system/media/audio/alarms/) and notification sounds (/system/media/audio/notifications/).

    I hope someone finds this useful!

    EDIT: Looks like you can just put new AAC/MP3/OGG files in that folder and they will be visible after a reboot!
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2011
  2. Blackcharger06
    Offline

    Blackcharger06 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ?

    why do you have to go threw all that trouble? can't you just take the ring tone off of your phone and save them to your computer. Then plug in the new phone and drop the sound file in your notifications folder? That's what I've done with the thunderbolt and it worked fine...
  3. eMWu
    Offline

    eMWu New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What new phone?
    I'm talking about replacing the ringtones in phone's internal memory, which requires enabling write permissions to the /system folder. And just putting a new file there won't make it visible in the phone's sounds settings.

    I'm not sure what you're talking about. :huh:
  4. Blackcharger06
    Offline

    Blackcharger06 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmmm

    maybe it's different on your phone. I thought it was all universal...

    I have the Thunderbolt and there is a folder labeled notifications when you hook it up to a pc. You can put any file you want in this folder and when you go to ringtones on your phone, the files you put in that notifications folder will then appear as a ring tone that you can choose...I've done it a few times already. What i'm saying is that, if you know of a ringtone you like, you can plug your phone in, go to that folder and copy the file and paste it to your hardrive. You can then plug in your new phone and and place that ring tone that you like in the notifications folder and then you will be able to choose it as a ringtone. I've used mp3's with no problem at all.
  5. eMWu
    Offline

    eMWu New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok, but the question is, does the ringtone still work if you remove your sd card?

    In other words, does the notifications folder that you see is located on the sd card or the phone's internal memory?

    In D2G's case, selecting an mp3 from sd card in sound settings as a new ringtone doesn't copy it to the internal memory, meaning the same sd card needs to be present since the phone plays the ringtone from it.
  6. Blackcharger06
    Offline

    Blackcharger06 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yup

    Yes. Your putting the file on the phone, not the sd card.
  7. eMWu
    Offline

    eMWu New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok.
    However Droid doesn't give you access to phone's internal memory like that, so your advice doesn't apply here :)
  8. Blackcharger06
    Offline

    Blackcharger06 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmmm

    are you sure...? I have the htc thunderbolt which is a droid phone. When you hook the phone up to a pc does it give you options like, charge, hook up as passthrew for internet, or hook up as usb device? I hook it up and it mounts 2 virtual drives. THe phone and the sd card. I just go to the folder like I said and then I can pick the ringtone. I swaped out the sd cards just to make sure.
  9. wotnartd
    Offline

    wotnartd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You cannot do that with any MOTODROID.
  10. eMWu
    Offline

    eMWu New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep, only the SD card is accessible.
  11. haro
    Offline

    haro New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    get ringdroid
  12. eMWu
    Offline

    eMWu New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's just a sound editor.
  13. Blackcharger06
    Offline

    Blackcharger06 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That sux. Maybe its a motorola thing. I got an HTC. Good luck

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums App
  14. dmcdow
    Offline

    dmcdow New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    works perfectly... exactly what i was looking for. these solutions are why i rooted
  15. leobg
    Offline

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You can put as many new files as you want in /system/media/audio/ringtones - you don't have to remove old ones. Once you put them, reboot and the new ones will show up in picker.

    They can be MP3 or AAC as well - not necessary to convert to ogg, but doesn't hurt
  16. eMWu
    Offline

    eMWu New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow, you're right.
    For some reason I thought new files wouldn't appear, I guess I didn't reboot the system after putting them there.

    Thanks for the info :)
Search tags for this page

add ringtones to android root

,
android ringtone root
,

android root ringtone location

,
change skype ringtone android root
,

how to add ringtone in system ringtones

,
how to add ringtones to rooted android
,

how to change rington in root explorer

,

how to import castom ring tone to android system

,
how to set personal ringtone in samsung galaxy nexus with in
,
i cannot set ringtone on rooted android
,
install ringtone in android root
,
manage rooted android tones
,

ringtone root android

,

rooted android ringtones

,
where is ring tone in root