1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Transparent Notification Bar

Discussion in 'UltimateDroid' started by Kessler J, Dec 5, 2010.

  1. Kessler J
    Offline

    Kessler J New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey, first time poster here but I was wondering if transparent notification bars are supported?

    I'm not sure if it's ROM or phone model specific. I've seen varying information.

    I'm running UD 2.3 and attempted to install a transparent bar via metamorph and it sent me into a bootloop.

    If its something that has to be supported by the ROM, this is me requesting it. :p

    **EDIT**

    Here's a MM that seems to be working with UD. Props to MBK

    Transparent Notification Bar
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2010
  2. ecsnead69
    Offline

    ecsnead69 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Are you just trying to put a transparent statusbar into the stock theme?
  3. Kessler J
    Offline

    Kessler J New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    At the moment yeah, the stock UD 2.3 theme anyway.

    I was just screwing around in MM and saw the transparent bar MM theme on another site and saw that it sent me into a bootloop. I think it had a few other icons for wifi/battery/etc but i haven't had any trouble installing those.
  4. ecsnead69
    Offline

    ecsnead69 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    I don't use MM anymore, its just doesn't seem to like 2.2 for some reason?!!?
    Are you familiar with apk manager??
  5. Kessler J
    Offline

    Kessler J New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Vaguely, I wasn't aware you could use it with MM themes.

    I'm a little new to theming other than installing .zipped themes out of this forum.

    I thought it might be some kinda issue with the ROM or phone, not allowing alpha for the bar or something.
  6. frankieg22x
    Offline

    frankieg22x New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm also intersted in this for the UD rom
  7. bendystrawboy
    Offline

    bendystrawboy New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well the phone definitely supports it, transparent (nearly) in miui
  8. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    OK, I just tried to edit the png that controls the color and when I flashed it, it changed nothing. So, this leads me to believe that if I want transparent, I may need to edit the status_bar.xml file too. Dunno for sure though. All I can do is play around with it.
  9. YankInDaSouth
    Offline

    YankInDaSouth Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Sharpsburg, GA
    Not sure if you are talking about the same thing, but I have been trying to get the status bar to be transparent with out any luck. It’s very strange because while on the lock screen the status bar is transparent but once you unlock and go to the “desk top” the status bar turn black again … not sure why this is!
  10. YankInDaSouth
    Offline

    YankInDaSouth Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Sharpsburg, GA
    That's what I am wondering ... thinking an xml may need to be tweaked!
  11. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Ha.. I was just getting ready to PM you Yank and voila! you appeared.
  12. YankInDaSouth
    Offline

    YankInDaSouth Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Sharpsburg, GA
    Yeah, I am good like that :wink:
  13. Kessler J
    Offline

    Kessler J New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah you may be right.

    Though I got bored and also flashed MIUI last night, and at least half of their themes either have a semi or fully transparent notification bar.

    It leads me to believe its something that may have to be done on the ROM devs end.

    And i'm sure he's already pretty busy.
  14. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Kessler,, I dont know man... I have it fully transparent now on the lockscreen. It's transparent as well "on the inside" cause I can see the stuff scrolling behind it BUT.. theres an image (solid black) in the way that when the drop down is fully closed, it sits there. I'll be looking for this image now. (This is all theory by the way.)
  15. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    ok its definately transparent now. The issue is, if I open up an app (or am on the desktop) with a black background, it's black. If I open one with a white background, its white. So, I know its transparent now. I just don't know how to make the desktop picture be what is showing thru instead of the black or the white.
  16. ecsnead69
    Offline

    ecsnead69 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    That wallpaper size should be in an xml. It is probably seperate from the statusbar though.... I know there is a statusbar xml, I would start with that one...

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  17. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    thanks ecsnead.. I'll get in there and hunt some more (I tried editing the size off the wallparer instead..doh)... I jsut tried something else.. waiting to see if i loop, fail or succeed.
  18. ecsnead69
    Offline

    ecsnead69 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    np, it should be defined by a parent size or something... I am sure it can be done because that is basically what is done by ADW to remove the satusbar.... I may look some myself after I pick up my son from practice... while I wait for 2.4 to drop????
  19. YankInDaSouth
    Offline

    YankInDaSouth Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,950
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Sharpsburg, GA
    Huh, good point guys ... never thought about the wallpaper size! Makes perfect sense though given that the transparency is there on the lock screen. Now, how the heck do you change the wall paper size LOL
  20. xkape
    Offline

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,876
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OH-IO
    I see the parent size in there but I'm unsure how to change the size of the parent.... so to speak.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
Search tags for this page
android title bar shadow 9 png
,
gingerbread theme with transparent notification bar
,
launcher support transparent status bar for gingerbread
,

mm transparent notification bar

,
notifier bar transparent
,
notifikasi bar transparan for custom rom
,
s2 status bar transparent
,
status bar transparente gingerbread
,
title bar shadow transparan
,
title bar shadow xda
,

title bar shadow.9.png

,

transparent notification bar

,
transparent status bar android
,
transparent status bar for gingerbread
,
transparent status bar gingerbread