Total noob here

lissener

Reaction score
Hi--I have droid x, been about a month now. Still finding my way around it. I'm sure 99% of the questions I ask here will be embarrassingly nooby, but I figured I'd take the plunge anyway; the more I ask now, the more I'll be able to figure out on my own as I wear away at my noobness.

So . . . current issue: when I bought the phone, the dude in the verizon store set up the gmail account for me. Apparently it was a necessary first step in order to keep my unwieldy contact list intact.

So now today, I dig out this Messages widget, that displays current messages for whatever inboxes you associate with it. I figured out how to add my work email to it, and it automatically included texts on its own authority, but I can't for the life of me figure out how to add my gmail inbox to it.

When I go to "add account," I get every option in the world--myspace? skype?--but no gmail. I tried clicking the Google widget, but when I go through the steps, I get the message "Account already exists. There is already a [my gmail address] account on this phone." [The "duh" is only implied.]

Um, yeah, it's already on this phone, but how do I include in this Messages widget??

Thanks in advance.

furbearingmammal

Super Moderator
Reaction score
Website
swdouglas.blogspot.com
Current Phone Model
32GB Moto X Developers Edition
Twitter
furryvarmint
I'm not that familiar with MotoBlur (as in, NOT AT ALL ;)) but I'd suggest sending an e-mail to yourself to see if it was automatically included when you set up the widget.

OP
L

lissener

Reaction score
Nope, it's not. And it's not one of the accounts listed on the Go to Messaging page.

furbearingmammal

Super Moderator
Reaction score
Website
swdouglas.blogspot.com
Current Phone Model
Twitter
furryvarmint