This article says 1GB?

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by kristinz84, Dec 12, 2011.

  1. kristinz84

    kristinz84 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. Liderc

    Liderc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +45
    RAM=/Storage.

    1gb of RAM, 32GB of Storage.
     
    #2 Liderc, Dec 12, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2011
  3. iKN0WaGH0ST

    iKN0WaGH0ST Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Ratings:
    +4
    RAM = Memory...

    RAM = Random Access Memory.

    Memory != Storage capacity.

    The GNex has 1GB of RAM. Most computers have 4GB of RAM.

    The GNex has a storage capacity of 32GB.
     
  4. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,079
    Likes Received:
    1,506
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,670
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    "The Nexus features a large, 4.65-inch display; a pair of cameras; 1GB of RAM; and a dual-core, 1.2GHz processor"
    and what the others said.
     
  5. doublea500

    doublea500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +13
    32 gb of ram would be nice though, although after 3gb, its probably doing nothing. those guys cleared it up for ya. ram is the amount of memory the phone can use to access basically. more ram=quicker
     
  6. Liderc

    Liderc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,269
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +45
    Corrected, but it's still considered memory. It is after all called a "memory card".
     
  7. doublea500

    doublea500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +13
    Most computers have 4 gb of ram? maybe the current ones but mine does not!!!

    1.5 gb of ram, and i added the extra gb in:D. HP Pavilion a1600 Desktop PC series -  HP Pavilion Media Center a1620n Desktop PC - Product Specifications - c00754198 - HP Business Support Center (added ram, better graphics card, better hard drive)
     
  8. iKN0WaGH0ST

    iKN0WaGH0ST Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Ratings:
    +4
    My guess is that the Android OS is 32bit.. but I don't know for sure. So yeah, anything over 3GB wouldn't do a thing. And more RAM doesn't necessarily make it quicker, you can just run more applications simultaneously without encountering lag.


    Why am I trying to pick fights tonight?

    Yes and no.. Hahahhahaha. What I meant was that most desktops and laptops which are sold today come with 4GB RAM preinstalled.
     
  9. kristinz84

    kristinz84 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oops...thanks for clarifying that :blink:
     
  10. coverton341

    coverton341 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have 20gb of ram in my pigeon running win7 64-bit. And to be honest, I couldn't tell the difference after 8

    Sent via pixie dust
     
  11. wolstonc

    wolstonc Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    In the last 5 years or so the media and sales have started calling ram memory, but we used to call hard drive capacity the memory. I guess ram seems more "correct" since it actually means memory in its acronym.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  12. 561427

    561427 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Ratings:
    +3
    Wonder what happens if they refuse to return the device? hrmm...