thinking of rooting gs3

Discussion in 'Galaxy S3 ROMS' started by DROID MONSTER, Jun 15, 2013.

  1. DROID MONSTER
    Offline

    DROID MONSTER New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I'm really thinking about rooting my gs3, what is y'alls opinion on doing it?? From what I have read there has been issues with roms on the gs3. Any suggestions? On what to root with??
  2. steeletown
    Online

    steeletown Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I never had any issues. Rooting it is pretty simple and there are quite a bit of Roms to choose from.
  3. leeshor
    Online

    leeshor DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2,846
    Likes Received:
    347
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    A lot of people DO have issues after rooting, and many don't. You must first ask yourself, "do I have a really good reason to root" I just ran into, (on another forum) 4 people in a row with problems directly related to having been rooted. You never know when you may get bitten.
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2013
  4. debrad0307
    Offline

    debrad0307 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    I have also never had an issue after rooting and roming my S3. Maybe the people having issues didn't do something correctly. Putting a custom rom on my S3 made me love my phone all over again.

    Sent from my Synergized S3 using Tapatalk 2
  5. DROID MONSTER
    Offline

    DROID MONSTER New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have rooted android many times before, but when I rooted my nexus I had a ton of issues so I'm more nervous about rooting my s3. What's the best rom? And was are the features with the s3 once it's rooted?
  6. X_Usaf
    Offline

    X_Usaf New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just got my S3 Today and I'm already rooted.

    Now I gotta decide what to flash.

    I got casual rooter it was 1 click. Its New but took a chance worked perfect.

    Not New to flashing just too the s3

    Anyone want to suggest a rom where everything works?
  7. debrad0307
    Offline

    debrad0307 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    I've got to suggest Synergy. One of the best roms I've flashed for the S3.

    Sent from my Synergized S3 using Tapatalk 2
  8. steeletown
    Online

    steeletown Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I like hyperdrive fast, smooth and alot of options.
  9. debrad0307
    Offline

    debrad0307 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Screen shots? I'd like to check out that rom

    Sent from my Synergized S3 using Tapatalk 2
  10. steeletown
    Online

    steeletown Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
  11. debrad0307
    Offline

    debrad0307 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
  12. sierra117
    Offline

    sierra117 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Synergy is nice. It's like stock with more features. I have had some issues with lag but I installed it a few days after I bought the device so I didn't have much time on a stock Rom. Give it a go, not much to lose.

    Sent from GS3 Synergy
  13. X_Usaf
    Offline

    X_Usaf New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I flashed synergy but wanted more.

    So....

    I just flashed hyperdrive . Only thing that isn't working is the camera and I didn't have the time to figure it out today.

    And the camera didn't work on synergy either.

    There was a ota waiting for me but I declined it.

    Love it so far seems fast.
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2013
  14. debrad0307
    Offline

    debrad0307 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    My hubby had the same issue with his camera when he flashed synergy as well. I have synergy and I don't have any issues. I think the issue is caused by the flashing process. There has got to be a setting we are over looking when we pick what we want installed. That is the only explanation I can come up with.

    Sent from my Synergized S3 using Tapatalk 2
  15. X_Usaf
    Offline

    X_Usaf New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think your right. I might redo the installation to and Pick more instead of taking the Developers choice.

    I def think its something I did.

    I am liking Hyperdrive alot.
  16. sierra117
    Offline

    sierra117 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    The camera works fine for me. I chose synergy recommended

    Sent from GS3 Synergy
  17. debrad0307
    Offline

    debrad0307 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    I'll have to give that flash method a try. I always do a custom install and I've never had an issue on my phone.

    Sent from my Synergized S3 using Tapatalk 2
  18. X_Usaf
    Offline

    X_Usaf New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have redone the installation 5 times and no luck getting the camera to work.

    But it doesn't seem seem to work with synergy or carbon rom.
  19. debrad0307
    Offline

    debrad0307 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    What error are you getting with your camera?

    Sent from my Synergized S3 using Tapatalk 2
  20. X_Usaf
    Offline

    X_Usaf New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It says...

    Warning

    Camera failed.

    That's it.
    When I open any camera the screen is black..
Search tags for this page
camera failed hyperdrive rom
,
camera not working on hyperdrive romantic
,
casual i747 gs3 download
,
galaxy s3 camera failed
,
gs3 camera fail
,
hyper drive rom s3 camera failed
,
hyper drive romantic i747 camera failed
,
hyperdrive rom camera error
,

hyperdrive rom camera failed

,
i747 synergy camera connect fail
,

rooted galaxy s3 camera fail

,

rooting gs3

,
samsung galaxy s3 camera failed
,
synergy camera failed gs3
,
synergy rom camera failed