1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Text Messaging Vibrate Will Not Work

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by veggiedave, Dec 21, 2009.

  1. veggiedave
    Offline

    veggiedave New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've gone through this phone so many times and i cant figure out why my phone will not vibrate for notifications. I've gone into messaging and checked the "vibrate" selection, im pretty sure everything is set correctly but still nothing. It will vibrate when i have an incoming call. But that's it. I have no idea what to do now. Please help!
  2. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    are you using Handcent or the stock messaging? ( I use Handcent)
    I had a similar problem... my texts wouldn't vibrate. I had the setting for vibrate as "only when volume set to vibrate" and it never vibrated with an incoming text. I switched the setting to "always" and I haven't had the issue since. And when on silent the incoming texts don't vibrate! Win Win!
  3. veggiedave
    Offline

    veggiedave New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im using the stock messaging thing.
  4. 640k
    Offline

    640k New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    default messaging app:

    messaging (main page)
    menu - settings
    notifications - CHECKED
    ringtone - (anything)
    vibrate - CHECKED
  5. veggiedave
    Offline

    veggiedave New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah thats how mine is set up.
  6. 640k
    Offline

    640k New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    are you sure your phone is not set to silent? vibrate is turned off when the phone is on silent.
  7. veggiedave
    Offline

    veggiedave New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    positive its not.
  8. veggiedave
    Offline

    veggiedave New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so i installed the handcent sms and it still will not vibrate with that. what gives?
  9. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    I'd try a battery pull first. If it still doesn't work after that, I would try a hard reset.
  10. veggiedave
    Offline

    veggiedave New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i did a battery pull and nothing different..what is a hard reset?
  11. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC

    Sorry, I meant to say a "factory data reset". It wipes your phone clean. If that doesn't do it, it's time for an exchange.
  12. Silverwing
    Offline

    Silverwing New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The same EXACT thing happened to me, and I took it in to the verizon store. They replaced the phone, and it still didn't vibrate. An hour or so later, the new droid started vibrating. The tech there didn't know what is going on, and I sure as heck don't know what is going on. But if I were you, i'd try to start safe mode, if it doesn't vibrate in safe mode, take it in. If they can't fix it at the verizon store, they will replace it and hopefully after a little bit your new droid will work fine like mine.
  13. veggiedave
    Offline

    veggiedave New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wouldnt that just erase all my data?
  14. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    If it works in safe mode, it is most likely related to a third party app that you have downloaded. Safe mode only opens the stock apps on the Droid, so that is a good place to start before wiping it clean.
  15. veggiedave
    Offline

    veggiedave New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    safe mode?
  16. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-hacks/4420-safe-mode-booting.html
  17. veggiedave
    Offline

    veggiedave New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so i was starting it in the "safe mode" and it would do the droid animation and then show the eye..then go black for a few seconds and then restart the droid animation and so on.. is that normal?
  18. veggiedave
    Offline

    veggiedave New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there anything I should save to my SD card before I reset it?
  19. Vanilla Tarantino
    Offline

    Vanilla Tarantino New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have this same issue. I figured it was a bug with Android and didn't think much of it since I rarely use the vibrate function. I haven't tested it since the 2.0.1 update, but if most people are saying it's fine for them, it makes me worry a bit. If you end up doing a hard reset, please post results.
  20. Vanilla Tarantino
    Offline

    Vanilla Tarantino New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, so doing a quick google search, it seems that there are lots of people with this issue. Before you go and wipe, it may be worth calling VZW or stopping by a store.
Search tags for this page

droid x not vibrating when texting

,
vibrate doesnt work on droid phone