Tethering to laptop problem getting log-in screens

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate' started by dck696, Nov 1, 2010.

  1. dck696

    dck696 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried to post this, and did something wrong.

    I am new to androids. I live in the country with only dial up, so when I got my Fascinate my son hooked me up with tethering, and on my laptop it is so wonderful! BUT!

    When I get to websites where I have a sign-on code, or where I have fields to fill in, I get the Microsoft "cannot connect" info. Example: When I go to on-line banking, it will go to the initial screen really fast. But the area wher I signin gives me a portion of the "cannon connect" screen. Also, I tried to order a case for my new phone, and all went well until I went to "checkout", and the same thing happened. I feel it is a security issue, but I don't know if there is some setting I need to make that I don't understand.

    Can anyone tell me what I can do? And please be kind, I'm old and have no technical knowledge!! Thank you so much!:)
     
  2. jerkules

    jerkules New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What program are you using to tether to the internet? If you use the free version of PDA-net, it won't connect you to secure websites. Only the paid version of that app will do that.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  3. dck696

    dck696 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It was a free version my son put on it, he uses it on his Motorola Droid. He has said, however, that he can't get email using this tether version. It's not PDA.net though, becuase the clerk at BestBuy suggested getting it from there, and my son had never heard of it.

    Could it be some sort of settings? Thanks--
     
  4. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I have a rooted Droid and I tether it to my Mac Book Pro on a regular basis. I've not tried to access my bank while tethered so I can not make any comments.

    Not sure if it will make a difference but try Barnacle. It is a free app in the Market.

    If you install Barnacle, let us know if you are able to connect to your banks site.

    Mike
     
  5. dck696

    dck696 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I loaded Barnacle on my Fascinate, does it need to be on my laptop as well? I'm so stupid to all of this stuff; my son goes to Vanderbilt and thinks I'm so old fashioned--so he didn't explain anything he did to get tether on my phone as well as my laptop.
     
  6. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I apologize! Before I replied, I went into the Market. I have not realized that to use Barnacle your phone had to be rooted. Sorry!
     
  7. dck696

    dck696 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    what does it mean to be "rooted"?
     
  8. Tallica

    Tallica Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Link 1 in my sig explains it all

     
  9. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
Search tags for this page

tether mail problem

,

tether to log in

,

what do i do to get to secure websites when tethering to my