Tasker, Kill App under 2.2?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Derekweb, Sep 1, 2010.

  1. Derekweb

    Derekweb Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Kill APP command does not work under 2.2. Any tasker alternatives?
     
  2. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    what app do you need to kill with tasker? you can just set it go to the home screen
     
  3. GolfProRM

    GolfProRM Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Ratings:
    +0
    Slacker would be one example. Going to the home screen when I un-dock doesn't stop the music.
     
  4. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    oh good point. i know theres no way to interact with apps other than opening and killing and now 2.2 stopped that. maybe see if they make a plugin for slacker (locale plugins also work)
     
  5. thejoshster

    thejoshster New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Found how to make it work

    1. get rooted
    2. install locale execute plugin
    3. install busybox

    Then create an local plugin execute task that runs @! killall -q process-name

    Just put the name of the process you want to kill where "process-name" is

    Its a pain to setup, but not bad after you do the first one. Works great
     
  6. SGTiger

    SGTiger Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So this "locale execute plugin" works with tasker or you're using locale?
     
  7. thejoshster

    thejoshster New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry. Yes the plugin works with tasker.

    EDIT: found a small problem it appears it only removes a background app. Will not kill service or foreground app even running as super user :(

    I understand this is blocked by design, but there are legit uses for automation.

    There has to be a way.

    I am new to android. Does anyone know any commands to change a process to run as background?

    That would solve it, I believe
     
    #7 thejoshster, Sep 27, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2010
  8. amwmedia

    amwmedia New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I found a nice solution for killing pandora on Android 2.2.

    Media\Media Control\Pause
    App\Go Home
    App\Kill App\Pandora

    This doesn't technically kill the whole app, but it kills enough of it that the next time you start pandora it will auto play again. It does the job for me anyway.
     
  9. amwmedia

    amwmedia New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    the 2.2 fix

    I use my fix listed above in the following post. Download the profile from my site if you want to see it working.

    Pandora Alarm Clock
     
  10. cjbear10

    cjbear10 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    metro Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am having trouble getting the Locale execute program to launch without Locale installed. How did you work around this?

    Thanks!
    bear
     
  11. amwmedia

    amwmedia New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you try the method I listed above? It works great for me, and doesn't require root or a locale plugin.
     
Search tags for this page
kill pandora tasker
,
killing apps with tasker
,
tasker how to kill app
,

tasker kill app

,
tasker kill app doesn't work
,
tasker kill app not working
,
tasker kill apps
,
tasker won't kill pandora
,
tasker wont kill media app
,
why does kill app not work in tasker