Super slow droid!!! Need help bad!!!

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by leavittwoodland, Jan 11, 2011.

  1. leavittwoodland

    leavittwoodland New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I need help. I have to original Motorola Droid, and it is super slow! When i say slow i mean, moving from one page to another (not in apps or web, but more like home screen to app list, or from one home page to another) or after sliding the unlock, it takes forever for the icons to load (like 20+ seconds) when switching from contact page to dialer page, etc. It is very annoying, and makes the phone not fun to have!

    It all started around June of 2010 after the first Droid update, and just got worse from there!

    I have tried:
    -Reinstalling the updates
    -Task Killers
    -Anti-virus
    -Restarting
    -Static discharge
    -Erasing apps, and reinstalling them

    Here is the kicker....Verizon just sent me a new droid (or rather a replacement, per warranty) and i am STILL having a problem! I may be an idiot, but i need help!

    My only thought is that my sd card is bad? Is this possible, and if so how do i fix it? Or is it something eles all together.

    I could really use help!!!!
     
  2. D1motoBRICE

    D1motoBRICE New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you tried a hard reset?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  3. Raydee35

    Raydee35 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Are you running 2.2 on it? Ever since the update I have wated to place my droid under my truck tire and run it over 15 times. My phone has turned into a complete turd and I have tried everything that was recommended on this forum to fix it. My fix is going to be a Evo next month.
     
  4. D1motoBRICE

    D1motoBRICE New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey if you upgrade you can mail me your old one :)

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  5. Raydee35

    Raydee35 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I was in a meeting today and had to show a salesman some data on my phone and I swear to God the phone wouldn't do anything. When It finally woke up and started to work I was so frustrated I ended up turning it off. It was much better back when I had the original software, I don't think the hardware in the older phone is ready for 2.2.
     
  6. leavittwoodland

    leavittwoodland New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes i am running 2.2.1, and i am going nuts! Like if i need to call 911, i will die before my phone even shows an icon! Can anybody help?????? Please!!!
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2011
  7. leavittwoodland

    leavittwoodland New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you explain what a hard reset is and how you do that???
     
  8. joshoid

    joshoid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you running either LP or ADW? You may be having issues with redraw. There are already theads on this issues posted here.
     
  9. joshoid

    joshoid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hard reset starts in recovery mode. You get there by sliding open the key pad, holding power and X at the same time. You will see the "M" motorola logo, keep holding and the screen goes to recovery mode. I am running Clockworkmod so I have a different screen than you but you should find an option "wipe data / factory reset". follow the steps.

    There should be posts on this already that can be search.
     
  10. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    You're getting some well meaning but nevertheless misleading information.

    First, remove all task killers and antivirus. Task killers and anitvirus are not needed.

    If that alone doesn't fix the issue then a factory data reset is in order. But not the one described by the previous poster. Simply go to you settings/privacy section/factory data reset.

    This will remove all data and free applications from your Droid. Some people say the free apps come back, that's not my experience. Paid apps should start reinstalling themselves once you sing back into Google but if that doesn't happen then go to the Market, click on "My downloads" and you will see them all there. Go ahead and install.

    Now as far as getting your stock back apps, get them on an as needed basis. Do not reinstall task killers or antivirus. Task killers interfere with the way a Droid manages it's memory and are unnecessary. Antivirus is a huge resource hog and is probably the reason your phone is running slow now anyway.

    Good luck.
     
  11. prime

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,847
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +31
    First download cache cleaner and try cleaning the app cache, if this does not improve the issue do a factory reset as described above.

    ---------------------
    fivefour on xda
    @f1vefour on twitter
     
  12. joshoid

    joshoid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks hook, still learning myself. I wasnt aware there was a factory reset under privacy options. As for task killers and anti virus. Seems like a lot of discussions. I personally just uninstalled my task killer.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  13. joshoid

    joshoid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dont think Leavit was rooted. I'd go with Hooks response.
     
  14. prime

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,847
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +31
    I would temp root and clean cache before doing a system wipe....

    ---------------------
    fivefour on xda
    @f1vefour on twitter
     
  15. Laur3nNewm4n

    Laur3nNewm4n Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    Ratings:
    +5
    My Droid had the 2.0 software on it originally, and I updated to 2.1 when it came out, and then 2.2 when it was released. No issues with speed at all. Just as fast, if not faster, than the day I bought it, and I run a home screen/launcher replacement (Launcher Pro).

    EDIT: I'm now running a different ROM, but that had nothing to do with complaints about the stock 2.2.1 speed.

    My guess is you have too much crap on it, and it needs to be refreshed/reset to factory settings.
     
Search tags for this page
droid bionic super slow
,

droid is super slow

,
droid razor is super slow
,
droid razor super slow
,

droid razr super slow

,
my android is super slow how to fix this
,
my droid is super slow
,
my phone is super slow
,
super slow android phone
,
will resetting help a slow bionic