1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Stuck on boot animation

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by currentweb, Dec 31, 2010.

  1. currentweb
    Offline

    currentweb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Well, NYC is in sight from the right hills.
    Ok, so I got the update, but it would fail to install. So, I went to a D2G system dump, and started comparing the /system/app. I found a few things that I had forgotten I had removed, and put the apks back in (I've done this before). But, the update still failed. So, I started looking though all of /system. I was looking through /system/ect and found that my phone had a file called dbus.conf, and the dump I was looking at didn't, so I deleted it from my phone. Worried about deleting things from the directory, I made a copy of dbus.conf on my computer. I rebooted, and now I'm stuck. I get past the Moto logo, but then the DROID animation just keeps playing over and over. I'll probably end up taking it to Verizon, since I did unroot, delete clockworkmod/bootstrap, and remove all traces of busybox. But I would prefer if someone here could help!
    Thanks in advance!
  2. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Try a factory reset. After that it's the sbf that was just released.

    This came from my brain by way of my finger and my phone. Don't ask where any of them have been. Especially the brain.
  3. currentweb
    Offline

    currentweb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Well, NYC is in sight from the right hills.
    Factory reset I already tried, and to no avail...
    I'm willing to try the SBF, but Apparently I have to wait for it to become public? Right now it's only availible to people who bought some app called TBH or something like that...
    But, if I'm wrong, can you give me a link to the SBF?
    Thanks for your help!:)
  4. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    It will be a few days; or if you have a buddy with a D2G you can pay for the app and download it from the buddy's phone, then use it to flash your D2G.

    I'm not sure if Team Black Hat would approve, but they're still getting paid for the SBF. :)
  5. currentweb
    Offline

    currentweb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Well, NYC is in sight from the right hills.
    Ok, so I'll just have to wait for a public release. No one I know has a Global, so I have no choice. If I get desperate, I might go to the verizon store and get it on one of their display D2G.
    Thanks again
  6. currentweb
    Offline

    currentweb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Well, NYC is in sight from the right hills.
    OK, I know your probably sick of me, but I just had an idea. What if I make an update.zip that will put dbus.conf back into /system/ect? I can get into recovery, so I can install zips from my SD card. Do you think it's worth a shot?
  7. wilboy
    Offline

    wilboy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm afraid not!(specially you have already unroot and deleted ur clockworkmod recovery)But just wait for the SBF to go public in a couple days!:)
  8. CellZealot
    Offline

    CellZealot New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The stock recovery can only run officially signed update.zip files so that will not work.

    I strongly suggest you wait a couple days for the public release when you can flash your phone safely with the SBF file to recover it. Anything you try in the meantime is not likely to succeed and will be draining your battery, which cannot charge if your phone can't boot properly. If you drain it completely then you will have to either buy another battery or an external charger to charge it before you will be able to flash it anyway.
  9. wilboy
    Offline

    wilboy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hhahaha CZ bit you to it!!
  10. currentweb
    Offline

    currentweb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Well, NYC is in sight from the right hills.
    OK, fine. I'll wait till the SBF is availible. Great, now back to my feature phone while I wait :(
    Oh well, and thank you both for your help. I can gey more confidence with all this hacking knowing that there are people to help when I screw up:)
  11. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    That's what a lot of us are here for. :)
  12. jakehowe
    Offline

    jakehowe New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the same problem mine was doing the same thing the Sims card was the cause, it was locked to another phone and was causing the rom to stay at the boot screen like it was rebooting over and over. did a reinstall of the rom and still the same sometimes it would get to the droid screen then it would reboot again over and over. so remove the sims card and see what happens.
Search tags for this page
a919i stuck at boot animation
,
droid boot animation stuck
,
droid pro stuck on boot animation
,
droid x2 stuck on eclipse boot animation
,

garminfone stuck on boot screen

,
how to install original stuck boot animation for gti9100g?
,
samsung fascinate stuck on samsung logo
,
samsung intercept frozen on logo screen
,
stuck on android startup animation
,
stuck on boot animation