1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Stock clock vs. new app

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by qqqqqqqman, Nov 28, 2010.

  1. qqqqqqqman
    Offline

    qqqqqqqman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Forgive me, as I am a brand new Android (Droid X) user as of two days ago. I just found the forum and have started going through the Sticky forums, but most of the stuff is over my head, other than adding a few free apps and installing them....heh. I'll keep reading and doing the SEARCH thing, but help me get started faster.


    First issue is with a CLOCK:
    -- Right now, I am staying with the stock Droid red eye wallpaper. Is there a way to keep the stock clock graphic on the page permanently? It goes off when I unlock the screen....OR....

    -- If I download/install Beautiful Widgets or Weather&Toggle for the clock/weather, can I still use the stock Droid red eye wallpaper? Or the wallpaper automatically has to be chosen from one of the BW/W&T wallpapers?


    Thanks for any help!

    **
  2. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    If you use a widget your wallpaper will stay the same. Just behind the widget.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  3. qqqqqqqman
    Offline

    qqqqqqqman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Any way to keep the stock clock graphic on at all times, i.e., still on after the screen is unlocked?


    Thanks on the widget answer, though...

    **
  4. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Its been a while since I ran stock but look through your motorola and android widgets by long pressing on empty screen space. They may have that same clock available but I don't remember.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  5. Garemlin
    Offline

    Garemlin Developer Relations

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,150
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Delaware
    There are many free clock widgets that you can place in the middle of your screen. A few that come to mind are Clockr, D-Clock Widget, gTab simi Clock, TypoClock and Tajm. Some are available on the market and some you can get by doing a simple search.
  6. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Typo clock is stylisticly similar to the lock screen one but I like it a lot more
    [​IMG]

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  7. jesse27
    Offline

    jesse27 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    looking in the android market, i can't find typo clock- do i have to be rooted or am i just not searching for the right thing
  8. dtsig
    Offline

    dtsig New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tigard, Oregon
    I went to the market and typed in 'typo' and one of the items listed was typoclock
  9. Technoman
    Offline

    Technoman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    Home dock has a similar clock, and I know there is a way to open without actually having the multimedia dock.
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2010
  10. qqqqqqqman
    Offline

    qqqqqqqman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    Sooooo....just wondering....back to the original question. Does anyone know the answer to THAT?

    I''ll likely go to an aftermarket clock later, but just wondering...

    **


  11. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    I'm a little confused by the question. Are you asking if the clock on the lockscreen can be placed on the homescreen?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  12. qqqqqqqman
    Offline

    qqqqqqqman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    Yes...the 3/8" high clock numerals, with small day/date underneath...that comes stock on the locked screen. Can it be configured to stay on the home screen when the screen is unlocked? (And if so, can it be moved, like a widget, a little higher so that it fits in the top of the home screen?)

    **
  13. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    I believe that's a no

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  14. Wall.E
    Offline

    Wall.E New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'd like that clock as well....the closet I've found is Beautiful Widgets. They have a clock font almost exactly like the lock screen clock.
  15. musicman
    Offline

    musicman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you can find a similar font style with beautiful widgets you can make the widget background transparent so it just shows the numbers. I hope that helps.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App