Some Incredible Questions - by an old Droider

Hashi

Reaction score
Hello -

I've tried to read all I can in this forum to learn the ways of hacking the Incredible. I'm not clear on a few things, but have about 13 months with a Droid 1 and SBF's, flashing ROMs, Kernels, overclocking, undervolting, and the like.

I spent last week trying a Droid 2 global, which I rooted, de-blurred, and under-clocked, but still had such bad battery life compared to the droid 1, that I sent it back today.

So I'm looking at Incredible's and am noticing some fundamental differences I can't figure out:

Any help would be greatly appreciated:

1. No SBF files for restore via RSD-Lite. (or am I just missing the obvious?) Do you do all modifications including going back to first base (unrooted) via .zip files and clockworkmod/sprecovery?
  2. AMOLED vs. whatever they replaced it with (SLED?): I'm a noob to the Inc. and wasn't aware of the switch until now. I take it there are some versions of the OS that have drivers for the AMOLED only? If I get one this week or next week, will it have the other display? If so, where could I find an image that'd allow me to retrace my steps in case I had to return it?
  3. Rooting for good: Is this a solid deal? Can you root via adb? Are the drivers for USB (32 & 64 bit) the same as for the other droids?
  4. Kernels and Wireless tether: Can I find an overclockable kernel that is also undervolted, has an interactive governor option? (any kernel news will interest me). Does wireless tether work if you follow the "android.tether" + fw option + wireless tether latest apk from xda?
  5. Clockworkmod recovery: I don't suppose Rom Manager works correctly? If not, that doesn't matter, but does clockworkmod? If so, how do you boot to it without having the hard kbd?