1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Some Exchange sync problems

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by mapexvenus, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. mapexvenus
    Offline

    mapexvenus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Here is a list of a few that I found:

    1. I have several folders in my Exchange mailbox. All of them show up on my Droid but they show up as empty. Hitting 'Refresh' does not fix this. Not being able to sync my Exchange folders may be a showstopper :icon_evil:

    2. My corporate Exchange server has a Global address book that shows up on my iPhone but does not show up on my Droid.
  2. droiddoesNOT
    Offline

    droiddoesNOT New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    exchange prob

    the droid will not work connect with my secured corporate exchange server and my iphone will. it was a showstopper for me. i have to get work emails on my phone. I posted a thread earlier today entitled droiddoesnot about this and was jumped on by happy droid users. i assume they dont work for a living. I will buy droid when it can perform this basic function.
  3. Tekmazter
    Offline

    Tekmazter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I believe there was something mentioned about the refresh in the upcoming OTA update (December 11th?). Poke around ... someone uploaded the VZ pdf.
  4. wscato
    Offline

    wscato New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Go to the Market and download Corporate Directory by Motorola. It is free and will give you access to you GAL.
  5. droiddoesNOT
    Offline

    droiddoesNOT New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it would have been nice if at release the phone was more capable instead of putting the burden on me to download this and that and wait for this and that. i guarantee that a motorola engineer who was involved in designing the droid doesn't use it because he needs to have his phone work with company exchange server.
  6. ScottDroid
    Offline

    ScottDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lol

    Droiddont it would have been nice if the iPhone did this in the first year....


    I am using touchdown for exchange now works perfectly for me, alternately DL the program mentioned in the thread above me.


    If people complain because the droid doesnt do this or that they would have thrown their 1st gen iPhone through a window and dont even get me started on the BB storm. Its been out a week or two for God's sakes.
  7. droiddoesNOT
    Offline

    droiddoesNOT New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That is why i didn't have an iphone until it did work. and the the touchdown app does not work with a server that has sophisticated security. So keep making excuses for your inferior droid. And i don't care if it has only been out a week. this was marketed heavily as the greatest thing ever and to be better than iphone. What ? ..they forgot about exchange synching in the r&d and now have to have a third party app try to get it done.
  8. mapexvenus
    Offline

    mapexvenus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    I agree, somewhat. But after all the hype about this very cool phone you would think that the Droid would have got right the first time what everyone else took a year to do. Viewing Exchange folders is a very BASIC operation.
  9. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    You have to go in and select which folders you want to sycn after the setup of the account... mine works just fine with all the folders.
  10. droiddoesNOT
    Offline

    droiddoesNOT New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    on motorola's own website it states that at launch the droid will NOT interact with passcode protected server. I work for a worldwide company. that server is secure. Motorola's advice was to have them change the server settings..which aint gonna happen i mean come on. If your server is not passcode protected then your good.
  11. mapexvenus
    Offline

    mapexvenus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    How do you select which folders you want to sync? I didn't see that option anywhere.
  12. rkoener
    Offline

    rkoener New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    All I have to do is hit the menu key when I am in my email. Select folders and your whole list will come up. Whichever one you select, those emails will populate automatically. Pretty easy.
  13. Mark5047
    Offline

    Mark5047 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also keep in mind if you are only syncing 1 weeks worth of messages it will not keep them in folders either, at least thats what it seems to be doing for me. I could be mistaken - anyone else?
  14. rkcoll1
    Offline

    rkcoll1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western Iowa
    Thanks for this information. All i had to do is select the folder and hit refresh and bam there they were. Will they keep syncing or do i need to just go to the folder each time and refresh? Not a big deal if i have to refresh all the time, doesnt take long.
  15. Tekmazter
    Offline

    Tekmazter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No offense sir, but you're blaming the makers of this phone and its software for something which is clearly not their fault.

    Microsoft Exchange ActiveSync is a major PITA for even Windows Mobile devices. Geez, just google some of the horror stories about the numerous security policies on an Exchange server which could inadvertently bump off ActiveSync users.

    You should be poking your frustration elsewhere and not at your phone.
  16. keeseckb
    Offline

    keeseckb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Anybody having problems viewing PDF attachments from their exchange mail?
  17. Tofucious
    Offline

    Tofucious New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My complaint of the native sync (and why I use Touchdown) is that natively it only gives you the option to sync the past 30 days. I have emails with info that I need to have mobile that are over 30 days old but couldn't access them, and wasn't going to resend them to myself every 30 days. Any chance I missed a setting that someone else knows about?
  18. rkoener
    Offline

    rkoener New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The two biggest complaints I have are this:

    1. There appear to be no pre-set options for snooze on reminders. You have to go into the event and change the reminder. When I hit snooze it only snoozes for like 10 mins.

    2. I can't receive invites to meetings as was advertised. They come in as an email with no options to accept, decline, etc..

    Anyone know if these are known issues or if I just don't know what I am doing. Either one is possible.
  19. dugdathug
    Offline

    dugdathug New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  20. techguy
    Offline

    techguy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Droid has no place to select folders to sync and I have the is 2.0.1
Search tags for this page

android exchange empty inbox

,

android refresh corporate contact list

,

download exchange offline address book to android phones

,

droid exchange addressbook sync

,

droid not showing outlook exchange address book

,

exchange global address book not showing on android market

,

exchange not syncing iphone 5

,

global address list android

,

global adres book

,

gs3 global address book

,

motorola razr m address book sync problem

,

problems syncing verizon yahoo and iphone

,

some exchange messages not showing on android phone

,

sync issues motorola droid razr with exchange

,

where is global exchange address book on s4