Simple questions I don't have the answers to. Can you help?

Not a smart man

Reaction score
I'm pretty new to the smart phone world, so I don't know what a lot of this stuff means.. Here are some questions I am hoping you could answer for me... (Don't laugh; they are pretty simple for most of you droid experts)

1. What is does "Mass Storage" mean/do? And what’s the benefit?

2. What are the pros and cons about rooting your droid?

3. What is the best (and simplest, I'm not to savvy in all this tech talk) way to make my droid run smoother? (Its real "Jerky" and "glitchy" from time to time)

Thats all I can think of for now, I appreciate any and all input you can provide...

justin82

Super Moderator
Staff member
Premium Member
Reaction score
read this for what root means

benefits of rooting to name a few are

wifi tether
load custom roms
theme
overclock

easiest way to root is here

mass storage is just the way your computer recongnizes the SD card ( or at least i think this is what you are sasking)

hope this helps

OP
N

Not a smart man

Reaction score
Helps a lot, but now.. (More stupid questions)

What is

wifi tethering and overclock?

Is Mass storage benefitial?

P.S. Thanks for the quick links!

Last edited:

Mikey311

Reaction score
First off, welcome to droidforums and congrats on getting your new smartphone! I currently own a droid x, so what i'm telling you will be pertaining to that phone. Also, questions are welcome here, so don't worry haha Also, understand that i'm not a professional and i'm not a know it all either, so make sure you hear other people's opinions too, cause i could be saying a few things wrong.

1) if you're asking about "Mass Storage Device" when connecting your phone to the computer, then mass storage means you're using your phone as an external hard drive, or usb drive. This way you can save documents and what not on your phone and move them over to another computer or just back them up or whatever you want to do