1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Sim question

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by dopeskwyd, Dec 12, 2012.

  1. dopeskwyd
    Offline

    dopeskwyd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kekaha, HI
    Here's one for the VS guru's. If I get a 4g phone from Ebay, swappa, list, etc., will I be able to use the sim card out of my D3 or D2G to activate it?

    I've been looking at upgrading phones(though, not through VZW(still grandfathered)) and I just found out about the sim card for 4g phones.

    If I can't use my D3 or D2G sim, is there a way to get a sim without going through VZW? I really don't want to lose my UL data?
  2. GoCliffGo05
    Offline

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,728
    Likes Received:
    280
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Maryland
    If your phone has a sim then yea you should also be able to use it on your new phone. Also SIM cards are free. Verizon will just give you one if needed and they don't need to know anything about your current plan.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
  3. dopeskwyd
    Offline

    dopeskwyd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kekaha, HI
    Sweet, thanks for getting back at me so quick.

    2 things though,
    1. The sim in my D3(and D2G) is for global use, which I don't use. So it's still good to go?
    2. Free? They don't need to activate it or anything?
    Reason I ask #2 is my wife just got a GS3 from her brother(at the super low family rate, and yes im jealous, and no, she has no idea what that "fancy gadget" can do) but she has no sim card, thus she can't even turn it on.
  4. dopeskwyd
    Offline

    dopeskwyd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kekaha, HI
    Bumpity bump?
  5. bsweetness
    Offline

    bsweetness Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,496
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    48
    The SIM card from your Droid 3 or Droid 2 Global will not work with a LTE device.

    The SIM cards you already have are for GSM global roaming only. They have no LTE compatibility whatsoever. LTE SIM cards for Verizon are tied to your account in a way that the GSM roaming SIM cards are not. They're two different types of technology and operate on two different types of networks.

    All you'll need to do once you get a LTE phone is go into a corporate Verizon store with the phone and tell them you want to activate it on your account. They'll give you a LTE SIM card for free and switch everything over. You won't lose unlimited data. At this point, you only lose unlimited data if you sign a new contract, and simply activating a non-subsidized LTE device on your existing account is not starting a new contract. It's all free if you go to a corporate store (authorized and premium retailers might charge you), and it's a simple process.
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2013
  6. dopeskwyd
    Offline

    dopeskwyd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kekaha, HI
    Thanks B. That's what I thought. I already got my wifes gs3 setup. Was just curious about my sim.