Sensor usage killing battery...

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by coolj478, Aug 28, 2010.

  1. coolj478

    coolj478 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had bonsai blast on my phone but I deleted it because it was killing my battery (or atleast I thought). I'd use the program, exit, and kill it using (ATK) and I'd check to make sure it wasn't running in services. Then I'd charge my phone to 100%, pull it off the charger and go to bed. I'd wake up and the phone would be drained 20% or more! According to SpareParts bonsai blast (that was exited and killed) was using the senor 100% of the time since unplugged. So I thought it was the program and deleted it. Now the same things are happening with GalaxIR and OpenTyrian. If I use either program, exit and kill, charge phone to 100%, both of those programs start using the sensor 100% of the time. They aren't listed in ATK or running services so I'm at a loss here.

    Any suggestions? Is something up with my phone?

    Thanks for the help!
     
  2. aminaked

    aminaked Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    California, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you running 2.1 or the leaked 2.2?

    You may want to ditch the task killer.
     
  3. coolj478

    coolj478 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm still using 2.1 (rooted, but the issue with bonsai blast was pre-root). I don't really use ATK all that much. Maybe once a day if I notice the phone is lagging a bit. I figured though by using it on these programs they'd be killed for sure.
     
  4. aminaked

    aminaked Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    California, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. coolj478

    coolj478 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yup, saw that. I have been able to reproduce with both that setting check and not checked. Frankly I guess I don't have much running on my phone that uses location because I don't get much different battery life either way. I'm leaning towards a hard reset but that's a pain (a huge pain).
     
  6. coolj478

    coolj478 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok I installed and played bonsai blast. I looked for a way to exit the applicaition and couldn't find it. So i used the back button and that seemed to end it because when I went back in i saw the load screen. So i hit the back button again and now if i look at sensor usage in spare parts the time just keeps going up.
     
  7. aminaked

    aminaked Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    California, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds like you found the problem, but here is info on the bug I was talking about:

     
  8. coolj478

    coolj478 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe I'm missing the obvious but what did I find? I just confirmed what has already been happening....

    I've got wifi and gps off and I rebooted the phone before starting to play bonsai blast. So I don't think it's related to the sleeping bug...
     
  9. aminaked

    aminaked Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    California, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh, my bad, I thought you were saying that the game was causing the problem.

    ***

    I think in spare parts you need to back out of it and then go back in for it to refresh.
     
  10. coolj478

    coolj478 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'd blame it on the game but it happens on three of them....So I looked in system panel and it seems that it's still running in teh background. So i went ahead and ended the task but the sensor usage time is still going up for bonsai blast.....any suggestions?

    I know a ton of people have bonsai blast installed, does anyone else have this problem.

    Since this is happening wiht more than 1 game, is anyone else having this problem with any apps using the sensor even after being killed? I wouldn't care if it wasn't eating through my battery.

    Thanks!
     
  11. coolj478

    coolj478 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I did a factory reset and I'm still having the problem. Start up bonsai blast, no matter what I do when I exit (home key, back key and/or use ATK) it still keeps eating up my sensor. It did randomly stop for a few hours but of course my battery was getting killed from all the sensor action prior so I had to plug it in. Once I unplugged it from the charger bonsai blast was back to using my sensor 100% of the time.....even though it's not listed in ATK or under settings -> applications -> running services (how could it still be alive?) There HAS to be someone else running into this. It's with any game that uses the sensor (ie: opentyrian, galaxir, or bonsai blast).

    Could I have a defective phone? Should I contact Verizon?

    Thanks
     
  12. coolj478

    coolj478 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did a factory reset and I can still reproduce the problem regularly.....

    Is anyone else having this issue? A few people have to have bonsai blast, galaxir, or open tyrian installed and spare parts. After you exit the program does the program keep using the android sensors?

    Could I have a defective phone? Is there any chance this is a hardware issue?

    Thanks,
     
Search tags for this page
android sensor usage
,
android sensors.qcom
,
battery dtain sensors.qcom
,
cm36282 battery drain
,

sensor usage android system

,
sensors.qcom android
,
sensors.qcom android phone
,

sensors.qcom battery drain

,
sensors.qcom drain battery
,
sensors.qcom running