Extremely slow texting...

SniperZero

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to the whole Droid stuff, but I got a good bit of computer knowledge under my belt. Anyways, when I use my Droid X to send texts, sometimes the letter inputs will be EXTREMELY slow or it will go trigger happy and type a million letters at once when I try to type anything. I got Advanced Task Killer running so all I got to do is lock and unlock my phone and it will kill w/e apps are running to free up some space. Sometimes that does the trick to fix the slowness issue when typing, but other times ATK seems to just kill texting all together. Idk if it's a screen sensitivity issue or if it's a service/app running that's killing my phone. Guessing more of a service. Idk, I'm lost. I've done 2 factory resets now and it'll work for the 1st couple hrs or so, but then it starts doing the same thing and starts lagging when texting.

My buddy has a Droid X, and it works wonderfully. No lag issues at all and it picks up every little screen touch. Hell you don't even have to fully touch the screen and it'll pick it up. lol. But the whole reason I bought a DX was because I had a Blackberry Storm, and that experience was a horrible 2 years I'd rather not re-live in a DX. lol. Should I just get a replacement phone and see if that'll fix my issue, or is there a quick fix to my problem out there?

Droid DOES!!

What iDoesn't
Premium Member
Theme Developer
Reaction score
First thing to do is uninstall ATK...especially with any kind of "auto kill". Android already has a task manager and that will just hurt you in the long run. If you have an anti-virus app, uninstall that too.
As far as your lag goes, what messaging app are you using? Stock? Handcent? Chomp? How often do you reboot your phone? Do you use the home button or back button to exit applications?

Sent from my Droid using DroidForums app (free in market)

OP
SniperZero

SniperZero

Reaction score