1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

select text

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by ccc, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. ccc
    Offline

    ccc New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was playing around trying to know my Droid better and ran into the option Menu/More/Select text, and it has a message said text has been save on clipboard.
    Where is clipboard? How do I delete the text I accidentally saved?
    I wish they covered all these features in the owner's manuel.
  2. mrtosh
    Offline

    mrtosh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm in the same boat. Where is the clipboard?
  3. GadgetRick
    Offline

    GadgetRick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same concept as on a computer. It's just some space in memory. No need to worry about deleting it.
  4. mrtosh
    Offline

    mrtosh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gotcha. Thanks. Figured that part out. What about copying text from received emails?
  5. mcm180
    Offline

    mcm180 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    nyc
    TOTALLY SUCKS but you would have to go to the browser --> gmail.com .... and either in mobile or desktop view ..you have to click on

    menu key

    --> more
    ----> select text


    [​IMG]
  6. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    what? no.. just long press and block of text (or space for text entry) and select things like "select all" "copy" or "paste"
  7. mcm180
    Offline

    mcm180 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    nyc


    what do you mean? long press .. if I open my gmail ... open an email ... and hold press on the screen ... it does nothing UNLESS i long press over an email address within the email body for example... then... it pops up

    "send email" or "copy" options
    [​IMG]
  8. thatguychuck
    Offline

    thatguychuck New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SD
    You guys know you can hold the shift key and do a finger drag to select text right? I do that in my gmail all the time.
  9. mcm180
    Offline

    mcm180 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    nyc
    wtf

    [​IMG]!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    with the keyboard open?? who'dathunk!!! wow .. heheheh .. i feel silly.



    picture was made with PICSAY PRO .. by the way ... #KeepinItDROIDdawgz
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  10. GadgetRick
    Offline

    GadgetRick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I didn't know that! Awesome! Been looking for something like this! :icon_ banana:
  11. dean.collins
    Offline

    dean.collins New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmm yeh but it only works some times and in some apps.

    selecting and copying text is one of the negativetives about the Droid.
  12. GadgetRick
    Offline

    GadgetRick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I agree. At least it's (sorta) there...unlike the original iPhone... :)
  13. JGH
    Offline

    JGH New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, but I only seem to be able to copy the portion that is visible on the screen at that time....not able to continue scrolling and copying a long article.
  14. mfratto
    Offline

    mfratto New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think you are screwed. I just tried copying and pasting and I can only get a fixed portion of the text and when I move my finger, the screen scrolls. That's pretty useless.
  15. beckeann
    Offline

    beckeann New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Haughton. Louisiana
    This is a great site. Thanks I am learning so much. Hubby got his droid month before but I am getting all this figured out, haha
  16. mantis5
    Offline

    mantis5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco CA
    Stigy made a good FAQ on this subject.
  17. mfratto
    Offline

    mfratto New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    that FAQ may not be your friend.

    That FAQ is either wrong, or inaccurate. I have a sneaking feeling that "cut" behaves differently based on the view. For example, in Touchdown 2.0 when reading an email, I can not use the Menu+D pad to select text. Doesn't work.

    also, who's bright idea was it to use two items on the same side of the firking keyboard? Did the engineers every try to actually USE the menu + D pad?
  18. mantis5
    Offline

    mantis5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco CA
    Maybe that's because the FAQ says

    ;)

    I haven't tried it in Touchdown (don't have that app so far), but it has worked for me everywhere I've tried to use it.

    I do agree that the right side of the keyboard is hard to use because of the D-pad, but I find that copy/cut/paste is better implemented with this method than on, say, the iPod touch. My opinion. :)
  19. mikes
    Offline

    mikes New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's all well and good, but how does one hold the shift and use the D-pad on the screen (e.g. how would this be done on an N1?).

    Copy/paste is inconsistent across apps, and non-intuitive. This is an area which needs more work.
  20. mfratto
    Offline

    mfratto New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    still quirky

    Maybe that's because the FAQ says

    ;)

    *face palm* You are right, but still quirky. I just tried in TD, here is what happens. Press Shift then Left or Right d-pad, the various controls (buttons, etc) get highlighted. But, if I then swipe across the screen, some text gets highlighted and copied to the clipboard. :icon_eek:

    It works in other apps. Go figure.
Search tags for this page
android how to select text means to highlight a block of tex
,
android select text on scren
,

droid select all text

,
how do i highlight an entire text message on droid
,
how do i select all text on android
,
how do i select drag on android
,
how do i select text on my android phone
,
how do i select text on my driod
,
select all text motorola droid