select text

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by ccc, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. JGH

    JGH New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, but I only seem to be able to copy the portion that is visible on the screen at that time....not able to continue scrolling and copying a long article.
     
  2. mfratto

    mfratto New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think you are screwed. I just tried copying and pasting and I can only get a fixed portion of the text and when I move my finger, the screen scrolls. That's pretty useless.
     
  3. beckeann

    beckeann Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Haughton. Louisiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid turbo
    This is a great site. Thanks I am learning so much. Hubby got his droid month before but I am getting all this figured out, haha
     
  4. mantis5

    mantis5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    San Francisco CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Stigy made a good FAQ on this subject.
     
  5. mfratto

    mfratto New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    that FAQ may not be your friend.

    That FAQ is either wrong, or inaccurate. I have a sneaking feeling that "cut" behaves differently based on the view. For example, in Touchdown 2.0 when reading an email, I can not use the Menu+D pad to select text. Doesn't work.

    also, who's bright idea was it to use two items on the same side of the firking keyboard? Did the engineers every try to actually USE the menu + D pad?
     
  6. mantis5

    mantis5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    San Francisco CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe that's because the FAQ says

    ;)

    I haven't tried it in Touchdown (don't have that app so far), but it has worked for me everywhere I've tried to use it.

    I do agree that the right side of the keyboard is hard to use because of the D-pad, but I find that copy/cut/paste is better implemented with this method than on, say, the iPod touch. My opinion. :)
     
  7. mikes

    mikes Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's all well and good, but how does one hold the shift and use the D-pad on the screen (e.g. how would this be done on an N1?).

    Copy/paste is inconsistent across apps, and non-intuitive. This is an area which needs more work.
     
  8. mfratto

    mfratto New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    still quirky

    Maybe that's because the FAQ says

    ;)

    *face palm* You are right, but still quirky. I just tried in TD, here is what happens. Press Shift then Left or Right d-pad, the various controls (buttons, etc) get highlighted. But, if I then swipe across the screen, some text gets highlighted and copied to the clipboard. :icon_eek:

    It works in other apps. Go figure.
     
  9. mfratto

    mfratto New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Shoot a movie or it dind't happen

    I can't select and cut text on TD for 2.0. Not from the reading view nor from the reply view. All that happens is it jumps from control to control. So how does this magic happen?
     
  10. PJnc284

    PJnc284 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you holding shift and swiping across the text. It seems that the shift and dpad method only works in text boxes where you can actually place the cursor in the text.
     
  11. cyclops

    cyclops New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    After a lot of testing... the the ole shift + finger drag works, but seems buggy, e.g, the copy buffer seems small. Mine highlights in magenta and gives me the message "text copied to clipboard" -- I have used it in both reading and reply mode. It can then be pasted using the menu + v method. Wouldn't want to do a lot of editing this way.
     
  12. mfratto

    mfratto New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    yah

    Thanks for replying, cyclops and PJ.

    Yeah, very, very buggy. Don't know if it is a TD or an Android issue. Sometimes it works, some times not. I spend alot of time editing and sometimes on my Droid, so it's quite frustrating not to do cut and paste.
     
Search tags for this page
android how to select text means to highlight a block of tex
,
android select text on scren
,

droid select all text

,
how do i highlight an entire text message on droid
,
how do i select all text on android
,
how do i select drag on android
,
how do i select text on my android phone
,
how do i select text on my driod
,
select all text motorola droid