SD "Read Only"

Discussion in 'Droid Incredible Tech Support' started by LS-208, Mar 30, 2011.

  1. LS-208

    LS-208 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If there is another thread addressing this issue, please forgive me and direct me toward it. Out of the blue my Incredible will not recognize my SD card. Says read only and I can get access to nothing. I connected to my pc and it will not even recognize it. Can you please help? Thanks!

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums
     
  2. Droid Firefighter

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +25
    Current Phone Model:
    S8
    Is the card "mounted"? Go to menu>storage>unmount storage card. Click home, then go back into storage and click mount storage. See if that works for you.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  3. LS-208

    LS-208 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, it is mounted as read only. I can not even unmount it. I have the SD card icon in the notification bar and it has a question mark on it. I have powered off and removed the battery twice as well and still no luck.

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums
     
  4. Droid Firefighter

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +25
    Current Phone Model:
    S8
    Ok. Do you know where the rescue squad forum is? Search in there or post your problem. A mod may move it for you if you ask. The RS is good and will walk you through until your problem is fixed. Sorry I couldn't help. Good luck!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  5. LS-208

    LS-208 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do I find that forum? Thanks for your help.

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums
     
  6. Droid Firefighter

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +25
    Current Phone Model:
    S8
    If you're on your phone app click on forums then scroll down to droidforums rescue squad. If on your computer log in and scroll down to the rescue squad forum. You shouldn't have any problem finding it either way.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  7. Droid Firefighter

    Droid Firefighter Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet
    Ratings:
    +25
    Current Phone Model:
    S8
    And you are welcome. It was my pleasure.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  8. 13th angel

    13th angel Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Ratings:
    +1
    Try pulling the card out and then reinserting it then power cycling your phone. Had my phone stop recognizing the card, did this and it works again. If that doesn't work then something might have gotten corrupted on the card, format it using a computer (plug it in using the sd card adapter, not through the phone) and it should work.

    Sent from my Liberated D2G
     
  9. LS-208

    LS-208 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok. Definitely will try both. Thanks. If I have to format it, won't I lose all my info?

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums
     
  10. 13th angel

    13th angel Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes but if you can't use it now there's really no difference lol

    Sent from my Liberated D2G
     
  11. LS-208

    LS-208 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't unmount it to format it, nor will the pc recognize it. I'm thinking its garbage at this point.

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums
     
  12. 13th angel

    13th angel Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ouch..... that happened to my mom's when she put it in her d2g from her BB storm. Was hoping it would recognize it and let you format though. Good thing theyve gotten to be pretty cheap now..... when i got my 2 gig for my alias (was the biggest they made then) it was like $40, now you can get a 16 gig for that.
     
Search tags for this page

android says sd card rrad only

,

htc incredible sd card says read onlt, what is the cure

,

mounted read card error in htc

,

sd card mounted read only droid phone