Screenshot app?

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by yearn, Nov 8, 2009.

  1. yearn

    yearn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ava, MO
    Ratings:
    +0
    What app are you guys using for screenshots?
    All the ones Iv tried have failed because it needs root access
     
  2. Stigy

    Stigy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    The only application in the market that does screenshots requires root access.

    The only way I know of doing it using the DDMS batch file in the Software Development Kit (SDK starters package) in the Tools folder. If you do a google search for DDMS Android, you should find a decent guide on installing/using it.
     
  3. yearn

    yearn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ava, MO
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cool, thanks. Ill check into it
     
  4. smilepak

    smilepak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. yearn

    yearn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ava, MO
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys, I just found an easy way to take a screenshot,
    Download DXtop from the app store and assign your camera button to snap a screenshot, its really easy and theres TONs of themes out there for it

    [​IMG][/IMG]
     
  6. mad3963

    mad3963 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just tried this. Works great! So why can't someone write a simple app for screenshots, using whatever process dxTop uses to do this?
     
  7. sebgonz

    sebgonz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I like the android SDK way best. Gives you a nice, clear image. And it's a piece of cake to use.
     
  8. davidjmcconnell

    davidjmcconnell New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Will any of the screenshot options discussed here -- including the SDK -- take screen shots of web pages?

    I tried Home++, which requires neither rooting the phone nor installing software on my computer, but it will only take images from the desktop, not applications. It works great for that task.
     
  9. altjx

    altjx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    okay, which is the exact name of dxtop? there's a million themes so i dont know what is a theme and which isnt
     
  10. Shannon_VanWagner

    Shannon_VanWagner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2010
  11. pwjone1

    pwjone1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Poughkeepsie, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe dxTop is listed under the Marketplace as:

    dxTop: Home Alternative
    Access Lane, Inc. $2.99

    The URL now gets you to further info:

    What is dxTop?

    I'm afraid though, that it won't do a regular screen capture, at least that seems to be indicated at:

    General Discussion: Taking a Screenshot With dxTop

    Only when dxTop has focus. So you cannot use it to capture application screens.
     
  12. victoriac

    victoriac Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +0
    I downloaded the dxtop app and can take a screenshot. I wish i can see the shot in my sd gallery on my phone but I can't. My other problem is when I plug my Droid into my computer the screenshot is there but my background picture doesn't come out. It comes out black but with my current icons?? Any suggestions? I am using a dxtop theme that includes wallpaper so I thought for sure it would come out. Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions.
     
  13. victoriac

    victoriac Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried different ways to capture home screen with dxtop home. It saves the screenshot to my sd card, I can't look at them on the phone, I have to connect to computer to view but still cannot get backgrounds to show up in the picture. Is this how the app or is it my phone. Can anyone who has taken a screenshot with this app please tell me how they did it and if the background shows up on your pic. Also can you view it on the computer only? Or am I doing something wrong?
     
  14. Stang68

    Stang68 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Google needs to build this into the OS. Screenshots can be invaluable. Maybe if you hold the Menu button, you're prompted to take a screenshot? Put that in a 2.1 update! haha
     
  15. Erron

    Erron Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Open home also allows this. Just another home screen replacement.
     
Search tags for this page
droid screen shot app
,

droid screenshot

,
how to screenshot droid
,
how to screenshot on droid 3
,
screen shot on droid
,
screenshot android app
,
screenshot app for android
,
screenshot app for droid
,
screenshot apps for android
,

screenshot on droid