Screen issues

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by bgreenaker12, Dec 13, 2012.

  1. bgreenaker12
    Offline

    bgreenaker12 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm having trouble loading anything from my home pages and app screens.
    Sometimes, not always, but at least 4 to 6 times a day, I'll tap something and it looks like it will load, then it bounces back to the home screen. It doesn't seem to matter how many times I tap for anything. Then after a few minutes everything is fine.
    I've tried everything including a factory reset. Help!!!
    Betsy

    Also, sometimes the screen goes black for no reason and I have to turn it off.

    Well now it's getting worse, when I finally do get to a site, I will select something and it bounces back to the home screen.
    Arrrhhh!!!!!
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2012
  2. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    try wiping cache in android recovery
    it's just a temp fix but might allow you to try some other things
    rooted?
    if not root
    906 use MOTOFAIL, 890 use zergRUSH
    install Safestrap v3
    make a nandroid backup
    install [FONT=Droid Sans, Arial, sans-serif]Titanium Backup [/FONT]
    back up your apps, then start freezing your apps, till it starts running better

    if it's still not running good
    wipe data and/or flash recovery image
    .890 use D3.SBF.890.ZIP (flash via rsdlite)
    .906 use
    .906 1-click-sbf.exe + tools [10-8-2012]

    boot to android recovery turn off press and hold m, power on
    select android recovery, at !, triangle, and android andy, press both volume buttons
  3. bgreenaker12
    Offline

    bgreenaker12 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the info.
    No, the phone had never been rooted and I'm not sure how to do that.
    I thought I might have a virus but a few scans later hasn't changed anything.
    This is very frustrating!
    Betsy
  4. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    you have already tried factory reset, so I don't think rooting is going to help
    any chance you still under warranty?

    think your going to need to flash a recovery image
    you need to know what system version
    menu/system/about phone/system version
    5.6.890 use D3.SBF.890.ZIP (flash via RSD Lite 5.7)
    5.7.906 use .906 1-click-sbf.exe + tools
  5. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2012
  6. bgreenaker12
    Offline

    bgreenaker12 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    -------------Update-------------
    Well now my droid will not turn on.
    I push the button to power up and
    all it does is show me the Motorola and
    dual core.
    It won't turn off until I pull the battery.
    I have pushed the on button while holding
    the down volume button abd my screen went
    black and in little words said my battery was ok
    and other system stuff that won't let me do anything.
    Help again...
    Betsy
  7. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    did you flash a sbf?
    if so which one?
    and
    did you wipe cache after?
  8. bgreenaker12
    Offline

    bgreenaker12 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not sure what you mean but I
    haven't done anything. I'm using my husband's
    phone but I want mine back.:frown:
  9. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
  10. bgreenaker12
    Offline

    bgreenaker12 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, I pushed the on and down volume buttons and a black
    screen popped up.
    It says. AP Fastboot Flash Mode. (S) 00.64
    Battery OK
    Ok to program
    connect USB
    Data cable

    Now what? The only computer i have is an aging Mac. The kind
    with the giant ball attached to the screen.

    Thank you very much for your help so far.
    Betsy
  11. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    does battery still charge? you do not want battery to die, in the middle of flashing firmware

    did you ever check what system version is on phone?
    menu/system/about phone/system version

  12. bgreenaker12
    Offline

    bgreenaker12 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, yes it keeps a charge.
    I can't tell you what you model it is
    because all I see when I turn it on is the
    Motorola symbol and it never goes any further.
    However...
    when I slid tbe keyboard out and pushed the
    Power button and pushed the "x" button at the
    same time, a triangle with a "!" inside and the
    little green droid guy. This screen also failed to
    progress to anything.

    Betsy
  13. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    at this screen, press both volume buttons, to continue on to android recovery options
    then use volume buttons to scroll, power to select
    I would select wipe data/factory reset
    confirm, then after wipe is complete, select reboot
  14. bgreenaker12
    Offline

    bgreenaker12 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the suggestions.
    I truly think this thing is dead though.
    I did all the things on the option screen except the sd card because I took that out when trouble started, and
    it won't go any further than the Motorola
    start screen.
    Sigh...
  15. bgreenaker12
    Offline

    bgreenaker12 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anybody else have this problem?
    Betsy
  16. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    yes, normally flashing a sbf, is the fix
    I posted links in 2nd post

    I suggest posting in those threads, on how to fix using a mac
Search tags for this page
android screen discolouration how to fix
,

d3.sbf.890.zip

,

framaroot virus