screen glitching

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by conacher, Oct 28, 2010.

  1. conacher

    conacher New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had my droid for a couple weeks now, and love it except for one thing. Occasionally the screen will start glitching and doing whatever it wants. When it first started doing it, I deleted my app killer, and that seemed to fix it, but now it is doing it again. I deleted every app I've installed on it to see if one of them was the problem, but that didn't help either. Any suggestions as to what's wrong and hopefully how to fix it?
     
  2. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Glitching how? What is it doing?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  3. random190user44

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United States
    Ratings:
    +0
    Provide more details

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  4. conacher

    conacher New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It acts like someone else just starts doing things on it, like scrolling through the screens, to opening apps. When im texting using the screen, it will start entering random letters, or the touch ability will completely stop working so I can't do anything on it. When it does this I have to turn the screen offf and then turn it on again
     
  5. ruvy01

    ruvy01 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wastefield, New England
    Ratings:
    +4
    try doing a factory data reset.. its in settings- privacy.. if that doesnt fix it call verizon tech support and they will send you a like new refurbished droid 2
     
  6. conacher

    conacher New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've tried the data reset a couple times now, and it will make it work fine for a little while, but then it will start to do the same thing again, even if I don't install any apps. I guess I'll call Verizon unless anyone else has anymore suggestions
     
  7. lilmiss87

    lilmiss87 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    mine has been doing sort of the same thing. i turn the screen off with the sleep button then go to turn it back on with it and it won't come on. i sat there for 3 minutes waiting on it to act right and come on when i hit the sleep button, then i slid it open and it worked but i had tried sliding it open before when it first wouldn't come back on and it wouldn't respond. kind of annoying. i'm gonna call verizon and tell em what's up with it. but they're kind of idiots and claim you did something wrong to make it do that..or better yet..take off the back cover, remove the battery, put the battery back in and turn the phone on and ta-da it magically fixes it..they call it a soft reset or maybe it's hard reset ..that's their solution to everything....either way it's like thanks for wasting my time when that was the problem. morons. must be nice to get paid to tell someone to take out the battery to their phone instead of looking into the fact that the phone programming itself is faulty and the people who created it.
     
  8. conacher

    conacher New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok I'm gonna take my phone into verizon and try to get a replacement. Should I do a factory rest beforehand?
     
  9. lilmiss87

    lilmiss87 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    reset?.. i wouldn't call it that but whatever

    personally i wouldn't do the factory reset cuz honestly all it did to my phone was remove my facebook and email accounts that i had on it. all my contacts and songs and ringtones were still on it..it's not even a real reset in my opinion..
     
  10. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alot of that stuff is on your sd card which is why it didn't go away. As for the contacts if you syncd up with backup assist when you restarted the phone they would immediately get added

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  11. conacher

    conacher New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I guess I'll leave it the way it is then. Will they swap sd cards so I don't have to redownload everything?
     
  12. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ya just take your sd card out before you give it to em.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
Search tags for this page
android screen glitching
,
droid glitching screen
,
how do i stop my phone from glitching
,

how to make your phone stop glitching

,
how to stop my phone from glitching
,
how to stop phone from glitching
,

how to stop your phone from glitching

,
phone glitching
,
why is my phone glitching
,
why is my phone glitching android