Roms!!

11bravo

Reaction score
Hey guys im new to this. Can anyone tell me how to get a start on installing a rom on my droid x 2.2? Its rooted already. Am I gona need a computer or is it possible by just using terminal emulator?

AlexGinsberg

Reaction score
download ROM Manager from the Market. open the application and go to “Download ROM”. select a rom, download and install. MAKE SURE TO BACKUP YOUR DEVICE BEFORE YOU INSTALL. Most roms will recommend wiping cache and data for a clean install.

A lof of us are running Rubix Focused .5 or 1.0 from Drod, there’s a lot of threads about this.

mwhartman

Super Moderator/RS
Premium Member
Reaction score
If you have SPR you can use the update.zip method. You download the rom move to your phone and install. Very simple and rather safe, in my opinion.

chkmate

Silver Member
Reaction score
Having Bootstrap Recovery is a good idea. Gotta have your original setup backed up for future use or if things go bad. ROM Manager worked great for me a couple times. But I also tried things on my own as mwhartman explained. Nice to know how things work.

Read instructions for each ROM, for they are not always the same. And always make a backup of current before diving in.

OP

11bravo

Reaction score
What is SPR?

Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App

huskerkate

Premium Member
Premium Member
Reaction score
SPRecovery, full name is Sir Psychos Recovery. It's another recovery image.

Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App

OP

11bravo

Reaction score
Do I get that from the market? Would u please explain how I can use rom manager?

mwhartman

Super Moderator/RS
Premium Member
Reaction score
Do I get that from the market? Would u please explain how I can use rom manager?

SPR is not in the Market. If you have RM, open the app and scroll down and tap flash alternate recovery. That will install SPR.

You access SPR by booting into recovery (X and power). You can make and restore backups, install roms, themes, and kernels.