Noob here- Trying to flash new ROM

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by mzio, Jan 11, 2011.

  1. mzio

    mzio New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys-
    Ive never done this before but im interested in flashing the darkside ROM on my Droid X, but I looked on the forums and cant find a how to or anything. Can anyone help me out? Thanks!!
     
  2. Droid-Xer

    Droid-Xer Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +57
  3. en28so

    en28so Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Antonio TX
    Ratings:
    +1
    Are you on the latest firmware version for your phone btw? Which is 2.3.240.

    Droid X rooted with z4root and running DarkSlide V4.2 underclocked ( to save battery)
     
  4. Garemlin

    Garemlin Developer Relations

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,461
    Likes Received:
    352
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Delaware
    Ratings:
    +373
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G3 (VZW), Nexus 7 v2
    Moving to ROMS


    And do read the link that Droid-Xer gave you. It is very useful.
     
  5. jtpark

    jtpark New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    Noob here as well. I just followed the instructions and so far I got to:
    1. Root using Z4ROOT
    2. Installed Bootstrap and backed up

    here is where I'm lost... I went on Fabdroid wiki site and followed instructions to wipe data/factory reset. Now that it has been reset I can't find Bootstrap on my app drawer. Superuser icon is there but how would I go back if I don't have the bootstrap?

    Thank you!

    *Edit:

    I think I screwed up by rebooting instead of installing from ClockWorks. Am I just screwed here??
     
    #5 jtpark, Jan 11, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2011
  6. Droid-Xer

    Droid-Xer Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +57
    Follow my how to. There is a free download of koush's bootstrap in it. Download, install, and you will have access to clockwork recovery.
     
  7. jtpark

    jtpark New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah ok thank you.

    I just went to marketplace and re-installed dxbootstrap and rebooted to backup. Good thing I backed it up last night.

    Awesome.