ROMs and battery life

adampalooza

Reaction score
I'm new to the whole rooting and modding process but I seem to have competently done just that. I flashed crossbreed+Franco kernel and running apex launcher. It's fantastic but battery life has been pretty awful. I actually got a better battery life from stock. Am I doing something wrong or maybe not doing something right? As I type this my battery has dropped 2%. Any information you can give this noob would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums

syndicate0017

Silver Member
Reaction score
How long have you had this kernel running? You really can't judge battery life unless you've had it running for 48+ hours. If it hasn't improved within the 48 hours, try running the battery all the way down and charging with the phone off until it is full. If battery life still hasn't improved, try a new kernel. Each phone reacts differently to each kernel. Franco's never played nice with the battery on mine either, though some have had great success with it.

OP
adampalooza

adampalooza

Reaction score
Also, is this normal? I've barely added any apps. Nothing I haven't had before at least and don't recall it looking like this

View attachment 48756

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums

cupfulloflol

Reaction score
Figuring out where battery draining problems lie with ROMs and kernels, even the stock ones, requires some investigation. Unfortunately there is no simple answer as to why you are getting poor battery life.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.asksven.betterbatterystats <-- BBS or https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.gsamlabs.bbm <-- BABM can help you see what is draining your battery, apps, radios, wakelocks...etc BBS is on XDA's forums if you don't want to donate.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.bvalosek.cpuspy <-- that app can help you see if your kernel will enter deep sleep.