Request-Could someone PLEASE add this to 12.31

Discussion in 'Team D1-MIUI' started by The Kid Cassidy, Jan 7, 2011.

  1. The Kid Cassidy
    Offline

    The Kid Cassidy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Reading, PA Pronounced (Red-ing)
    Just wondering if someone could add this to build 12.31 for me and have it work on boot? it's the black an transparent new market!
  2. deathsbane
    Offline

    deathsbane New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I installed this through recovery. It seems to work fine.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  3. The Kid Cassidy
    Offline

    The Kid Cassidy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Reading, PA Pronounced (Red-ing)
    I know is does but i already install a lot of zips to flash over my rom, just tryin to cut down on them when i do a fresh install
  4. MJ5150
    Offline

    MJ5150 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    Why don't you just open the 12.31 zip file, crack open the apps section, and drop in the Vending.apk from this zip file?

    -Mike
  5. The Kid Cassidy
    Offline

    The Kid Cassidy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Reading, PA Pronounced (Red-ing)
    i tried that and the market did not show up at all on flash (no icon) maybe it was a dud flash i could try again, thought maybe i did something wrong.

    you mean replace the original apk with this one right?
  6. MJ5150
    Offline

    MJ5150 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    Right. I customize some of my apps, and that is how I get them into the ROM's I use.

    -Mike
  7. The Kid Cassidy
    Offline

    The Kid Cassidy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Reading, PA Pronounced (Red-ing)
    Thanks, i'll give it another shot!
  8. The Kid Cassidy
    Offline

    The Kid Cassidy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Reading, PA Pronounced (Red-ing)
    hey MJ, just wanted to let u know i just tried that again twice (replacing the apk) when i do that and flash when i get to the home screen i am missing the market, music player,and theme downloader . as soon as i replace the apk with the original and flash they are all there!! Weird right!
  9. MJ5150
    Offline

    MJ5150 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lacey, Washington
    Weird indeed. I'll try it tonight and see what happens too.

    -Mike
  10. The Kid Cassidy
    Offline

    The Kid Cassidy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Reading, PA Pronounced (Red-ing)
    Please do let me know, wanna get this to work!!!
  11. mjh68
    Offline

    mjh68 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dumb question maybe, but are you fixing permissions and rebooting after you drop the apk in system ?
  12. The Kid Cassidy
    Offline

    The Kid Cassidy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Reading, PA Pronounced (Red-ing)
    No i am literally adding it to the 12.31 zip file on my computer (delete the original replace with this one) then flashing it. should i be doing it someway else?
  13. publicanimal
    Offline

    publicanimal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I looked at the updater-script file from the META-INF folder of the zip and this zip does more than just push the apk into system.

    The easy solution would be to just flash this zip rather than add it to the ROM, but I would guess you could get it to work by adding these lines from the updater-script of this zip to the updater-script of the full ROM zip:

    Code:
    package_extract_dir("kernel", "/tmp");
    set_perm(0, 3004, 02755, "/system/bin/ping");
    set_perm(0, 0, 0777, "/tmp/dump_image");
    set_perm(0, 0, 0777, "/tmp/mkbootimg");
    set_perm(0, 0, 0777, "/tmp/unpackbootimg");
    run_program("/tmp/dump_image", "boot", "/tmp/boot.img");
    run_program("/tmp/unpackbootimg", "/tmp/boot.img", "/tmp/");
    run_program("/tmp/mkbootimg", "--kernel", "/tmp/zImage", "--ramdisk", "/tmp/boot.img-ramdisk.img", "--cmdline", "console=ttyS2,115200n8 rw mem=244M@0x80C00000 init=/init ip=off brdrev=P3A_CDMA mtdparts=omap2-nand.0:640k@128k(mbm),384k@1408k(cdt),384k@3328k(lbl),384k@6272k(misc),3584k(boot),4608k(recovery),143744k(system),94848k(cache),268032k(userdata),2m(kpanic)", "--base", "0x10000000", "--output", "/tmp/newboot.img");
    write_raw_image("/tmp/newboot.img", "boot");
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2011
  14. The Kid Cassidy
    Offline

    The Kid Cassidy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Reading, PA Pronounced (Red-ing)

    See all this? this is spanish to me, I have NOOOO idea how to do that yet!
  15. jamezelle
    Offline

    jamezelle Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    not sure where you got that update.zip, its ONLY for flashing kernels, with easy updater by koush, no wonder it doesnt work erase all that shiz and add this
    Code:
    mount("MTD", "system", "/system");
    package_extract_dir("system", "/system");
    unmount("/system");
    being that whatever it is your flashing is in system of the zip
  16. The Kid Cassidy
    Offline

    The Kid Cassidy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Reading, PA Pronounced (Red-ing)
    Jamezelle, i've never done any code writing or pushing whatever the term may be on this, i guess what im saying is can u or anybody put together a 12.31 zip that when i flash it this will be my market? or can it not be done? if so would be greatly appreciated!!!! someone themed this market on these forums an i just downloaded an liked the look, i have a few apps basically all blacked out an this is as close to that as i can get with the new market (had a black old one)
  17. BUFFALOMADMAN
    Offline

    BUFFALOMADMAN New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    BUFFALO, NY
    that market is bad i had it in a past rom so hard to see everything I eventually left that rom due to this reason
  18. publicanimal
    Offline

    publicanimal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I pulled that code directly from the updater-script from the .zip linked to in the OP of this thread. I figured something in there would make the difference in getting this to work for the OP since apparently merely pushing the .apk to /system isn't working for him.

    He has a very weird and nuanced request. There isn't a problem with the original .zip, I've tested it myself and it works fine, but for some reason he wants to add the file to the ROM and flash it with the whole ROM all at once, and he claims replacing the vending.apk from the ROM's .zip with the one in this .zip doesn't work. I'm skeptical of that claim but it's not worth the effort for me to try it myself.

    I figured if it was in fact not working that something in the extraneous code that I posted above might work since that is part of the updater-script of the .zip he linked to. Based on what you said though Jamezelle, that .zip must have been made by an amateur using script from a kernel zip.
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2011
  19. The Kid Cassidy
    Offline

    The Kid Cassidy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Reading, PA Pronounced (Red-ing)
    Hey guys, i'm sorry for this request if it is veiwed as a nuance, i for one did not have the knowledge to know if this request was that outta reach, that is why i asked if it could be done. But let me ask anyone with the knowledge this? I have seen the old market changed up by putting a com.vending folder in a miui theme would it be possiable to get my desired results this way for the mod?
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2011
  20. tp4bama
    Offline

    tp4bama Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bama
    It wouldn't turn out like you would want it. It would be better to take the extra minute to just flash the zip.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App