Record TV?

Discussion in 'Off Topic Forum' started by Nblufire12, Sep 15, 2010.

  1. Nblufire12

    Nblufire12 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hello all!

    I have an 50 Plasma TV. Also have Comcast Digital HD TV Service.

    I would like to record my shows that I watch on my TV. I have a DVD recorder, but I want 1080p or 720p quality and I don't think the DVD recorder can handle that.

    Is there an alternate solution? Like a several hundred Gigabyte external TV Recorder that I can hookup and when it's done recording I can transfer over to my PC?

    Any guidance is deeply appreciated.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Corinacakes

    Corinacakes DF Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Maine
    Ratings:
    +3
    I use Tivo Desktop Plus. It is compatible with the droid now. It converts any show i choose from my tivo now playing list then I just drop them on my droid. Voila!
     
  3. Nblufire12

    Nblufire12 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm really looking for 720p video that i can just store on an external harddrive. Not really my droid.

    Any ideas?
     
  4. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    TiVo Premier is the best DVR you can get IMHO. It only works with cable.

    I've had TiVo's for years and I love them. You get home media, you tube, netflix, amazon.com. You can set it up by landline but for best use you'll need a wireless router.

    Go here for more information: TiVo Premiere: much more than a DVR - TiVo. It even comes with a physical keyboard, kind of like the Droid. And with a whopping 2tb hard drive you'll have plenty of room to record. You can also add eSATA if you'd like.

    Check it out.
     
  5. gadgetrants

    gadgetrants Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    135
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +139
    I'm in the same situation (except DishNetwork), and have investigated the problem. I'm reading the OP as saying he wants a LONG TERM storage strategy. TIVO has several advantages, but ultimately it makes sense to transfer the recordings off the DVR and on to a PC that serves (HTPC, etc.) to a home network.

    I also have a DVD with built-in hard drive, but the same problem: it only handles SD resolution. Haven't solved the problem yet, but the best existing solution seems to be using an HD capture card (or standalone box), either embedded in an HTPC or in conjunction with a large USB external drive. The ONE CATCH is how the recording system handles protected content...HDMI-HDCP. Most off-the-shelf systems will detect the protection signal, and not allow recording/transfer. I'm sure there are creative ways to deal with this, though...

    -Matt
     
  6. mikehal38

    mikehal38 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +1
    I bought a TiVo HD off eBay for $100. Great deal on a great product. Highly recommend TiVo and take a look on eBay you may find a good deal.
     
  7. gadgetrants

    gadgetrants Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    135
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +139
    Any TiVo owners use TiVo-to-go? Does it allow streaming/copying of HD material?

    In addition to a Dish receiver, I also have an Archos 605 (160GB hard drive). A nice feature is that I can record programming on the Dish DVR and move it to the Archos. The good news is that it's a straight copy--no transcoding or change in format. The bad news is that it only works for SD content. They promised HD someday, but I don't think it ever materialized. Wondering if the TiVo is similarly limited to SD, or whether it allows you to move HD content around.

    -Matt
     
  8. Nblufire12

    Nblufire12 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    If I buy TiVo off of eBay, can I record HD 720p or 1080p video from my TV and later move it to my computer?
     
Search tags for this page

android record tv show

,

can i record my tv show from droid dna

,

can you record tv on droidbox

,

how do i record programmes on my droid x1 box

,

how to record a tv show with my droid 3

,

how to record videos from tv on android

,

how to send recorded shows to droid from hopper

,

record tv off android

,

record tv show on android

,

record tv shows using android phone