Question for those who have rooted the S5

Discussion in 'Galaxy S5 Mods and Hacking' started by dlwhtrose, Jun 27, 2014.

  1. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +3
    Okay so I rooted my S5 using towelroot and then I installed X-posed. I am now having troubles with waking up my screen or making it go to sleep. I have a feeling something went wrong during the install of X-posed. My question (only because this is so different from any other root I have done) since X-posed alters the firmware how can I uninstall it without loosing root. Or what should I be doing differently.

    Thanks.

    D
     
  2. bkdodger

    bkdodger DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3,905
    Likes Received:
    923
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Ratings:
    +937
    Xposed can be uninstalled within the app ..did you check to see if you're on latest version ? Also are you running any modules ?

    2.6.1 seems to be latest

    M8 tap'd
     
  3. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +3
    I am on the latest version. I installed two modules but when this started I uninstalled the modules and restarted my phone in hopes to stop this. But that did not help. I do not have S Voice on it is deactive so I am left to believe something went wrong with X-posed.

    Thanks for the reply and assistance.
     
  4. bkdodger

    bkdodger DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3,905
    Likes Received:
    923
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Ratings:
    +937
    I would definitely uninstall Xposed first ...then clear cache and dalvik in recovery and boot up ...see if you have same issue ..and work from there with Xposed

    M8 tap'd
     
  5. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +3
    So X-posed was the culprit. I uninstalled it and rebooted. 2 1/2 hours now with no heat issues and no troubles waking up my screen or getting it to go to sleep. Thank god its fixed. Been a frustrating 24 hours

    Thank you all for the help.
     
  6. bkdodger

    bkdodger DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3,905
    Likes Received:
    923
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    Ratings:
    +937
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2014
  7. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +3
    I agree. I've been almost 24 hours without X-posed and my lag is gone, the heat and power drain is gone, and most importantly the failure to wake up the phone is gone.
     
  8. tanwill

    tanwill New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry i am a novice.

    Why Xpose is needed ?
     
  9. cr6

    cr6 DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2,031
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    Trophy Points:
    1,348
    Location:
    NW Rocky Mtn region
    Ratings:
    +1,148
    It's not necessarily "needed", there are simply a few mods that Xposed offers to make life easier. It's one of those love/hate things though....it either works great for you, or you end up having problems like rose. (& I did when I tried using it on my S3)

    tap'n on my S5
     
  10. bigmatt503

    bigmatt503 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    Rooted Verizon s5 here with exposed and about 5 modules and no problems at this point. (it's only been a couple of weeks)

    Sent from my rooted Verizon galaxy s5
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. tanwill

    tanwill New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the education.
     
Search tags for this page

s5 mods

,

s5 rooted lag