Question about stock browser

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by davidwilp, Aug 6, 2011.

  1. davidwilp
    Offline

    davidwilp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Florida
    Is the only way to "close" the browser when done on the internet to keep pressing the back / return button on the phone 100 times? Am I missing something?

    Thanks
  2. pistacio
    Offline

    pistacio New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    No, just push menu, windows, then minus or "x" them all. Then hit the back button once.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums App
  3. HarvesterX™
    Offline

    HarvesterX™ Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Normally, there is no need to actually "exit" out of the browser. Once you switch focus to another application (and the browser is no longer visible), it will remain in memory until the operating system needs more memory. When this occurs, Android will take a "snapshot" of the current state (ie. which URL you are browsing) and then reclaim the memory that the browser was occupying. In most circumstances, you won't notice any hit on performance while keeping the browser in memory until it's needed.

    To answer your question though, no. As far as I know, the only way to exit out of the browser is to either hit the back button until all windows are closed, manually close the application from within settings or a task manager, or to let Android close it on it's own when it needs the memory. The only times I would need to manually close the browser would be if say a web page that accesses your location somehow causes the GPS to hang (has happened to me on google's homepage before), or if I was getting ready to use any memory intensive application where pauses to close a program could rewsult in a glitch, such as when recording video or audio.
  4. davidwilp
    Offline

    davidwilp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Florida
    How do you switch to another application while browser is running. If I have visited 6 different sites I always have to hit the back key 6 times before I can get back to my phones desktop.
  5. brad92
    Offline

    brad92 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    TEXAS
    Just hit the home button.

    MIUI
  6. pistacio
    Offline

    pistacio New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    Or hold home to switch between apps.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums App
  7. HarvesterX™
    Offline

    HarvesterX™ Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Or install a 3rd party browser (ie. Dolphin HD) from the market that actually has an option to exit :)
  8. davidwilp
    Offline

    davidwilp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Florida

    I swear I am really not this stupid, though right now I feel like it. Just hit the home button. Ok :) Thank you all
  9. vera_w
    Offline

    vera_w New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I agree. You'd better change a 3rd party browser. They are all faster and more powerful than the stock one.
  10. steve602888
    Offline

    steve602888 New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do u get ur phone rooted? Wanted to buy a app but says u need rooted phone?

    Sent from my MB860 using DroidForums
  11. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Read up. There are tons of resources on rooting here. That's one of the most commonly asked questions.
  12. steve602888
    Offline

    steve602888 New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Rooting

    Where ? What does it mean I can't see anything. Appreciate your help mate
  13. steve602888
    Offline

    steve602888 New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi ive rooted what does it let u do?

    Sent from my MB860 using DroidForums