Put my SD Card in another phone... where'd my stuff go?

LordBalthazar

Reaction score
Ok, so I'm new to the whole "phones using SD cards" thing. A friend of mine wanted an mp3 ringtone that I had made and put on my phone. She has a Samsung Gravity on the Tmobile network. So I pulled my SD Card out and she put it into her phone to copy over the mp3. When she turned her phone back on, she said she didn't see the files. I figured that it was just not compatable with her phone so I took it back. When I put it back into my phone everything I had on it was no longer found. MP3s, pictures and videos were all empty. I then mounted my phone to my computer and noticed that the file folders were all different (I am now guessing that the Gravity added it's own files when she started her phone.) All of the folders were totally empty except for a few 1kb files that were in one of the folders. However, when I looked at the properties of the card, it said that 213kb of the 237kb was being used. So I am assuming my files *are* still on the card but due to whatever the Gravity did to it is making the files inaccessable.

Another odd thing is that, in the properties it says there is a total of 237kb on my micro SD (Meaning that it's a 256 meg card). However, on the card itself it says 16GB. So I'm confused. Shouldn't there be more than 237kb? I also now, get a message when I try to take video saying that my card is almost full.

Have I stupidly lost all of my information? or is there any way to get my files back? Also, is my card a 16GB or a 256meg?

Last edited:
Reaction score
there are 1000kb in 1mb and 1000mb in 1gb, thus what you are saying makes no sense size wise.

but anyway sounds like the phone went and reformated the sd card so yeah...your data is gone

KZIWarrior

Silver Member
Reaction score