1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Problems playing video (mp4/m4v)

Discussion in 'Android Audio and Video' started by wuyanks, Dec 16, 2009.

  1. wuyanks
    Offline

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When i first purchased my Droid (11/6), i ripped 5 full-length movies 854x480, h.264, mp4/m4v, single-pass encode, etc etc. using Handbrake they all worked flawlessly.

    recently, i ripped a few more movies using the same method. and none of the new rips work. i tried other procedures: using two-passes, changing AR, switching on/off anamorphic, etc... (i've tried video player, cinema, and meridian).

    audio plays, but there is no video. and yes, the rips do work on the PC.

    on the other hand, the old rips are still on my SD card and they do work .

    my phone is rooted with 2.0.1. i have done battery pulls, to no avail. i tried posting my issue in the "ideal video format" thread, but i feel this may need a thread itself.
  2. coolkidd
    Offline

    coolkidd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Droid does not recognize .m4v files...... re-rip the movies again into .mp4

    You will noticed your movies in the Gallery that it would only play those files with a movie icon (which is in .mp4).

    I do not know if renaming them from .m4v to .mp4 would work but you can try it.
  3. wuyanks
    Offline

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    regardless...

    mp4 don't work :(

    just want to find a solution short of a hard reset
  4. dvdcatalyst
    Offline

    dvdcatalyst Guest

    Just a wild guess. The movies that do work were ripped with an older version of Handbrake?

    With the latest version of Handbrake a lot of things have changed. Based on their changelog : HandBrake it appears that quite a few things have changed from the previous version that affect conversions.
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2009
  5. wuyanks
    Offline

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @dvdcatalyst: i tried ripping a movie using Handbrake 0.9.3... and no luck, only getting Audio...
  6. dvdcatalyst
    Offline

    dvdcatalyst Guest

    Basically select the iPhone profile, and leave the settings as is, try a rip that way to make sure it works. Then modify settings to your needs.

    Do a search on these forums for Handbrake. There are some settings that people mentioned that work, but also some posts about issues people run into.
  7. wuyanks
    Offline

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i'll give it a shot, thanks a lot DVDcat... btw i've used your software in the past, and i found it to be the best ripping software out there... this was probably 4 or 5 years back. will give the new build a chance... :)
  8. dvdcatalyst
    Offline

    dvdcatalyst Guest

    You are welcome,
    A lot has changed in that time :)
  9. wuyanks
    Offline

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @DVDCAT:

    good news, kinda, using handbrake 0.9.3 i used the default iphone setting, and the movie worked... the quality was crap (relatively)... and the size of the movie was around 300mb (usually around a gig)...
  10. sillyrabbitt123
    Offline

    sillyrabbitt123 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    does dvd catalyst or handbrake trim frames from videos?

    thanks
  11. dvdcatalyst
    Offline

    dvdcatalyst Guest

    Quality was to be expected, the iPhone setting in Handbrake has a lower resolution, ofcourse. However, now you have a base. Just change the settings to your liking and see what works.
  12. dvdcatalyst
    Offline

    dvdcatalyst Guest

    They both can reduce the framerate, not sure about Handbrake, but DVD Catalyst uses a 30fps setting as the limit, and picks whatever is less. either the selected framerate or the framerate of the original video.
  13. sillyrabbitt123
    Offline

    sillyrabbitt123 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I need to cut a portion of a video off what can I use? 10 seconds out of 30 seconds THANKS
  14. wuyanks
    Offline

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks, now trying Iphone setting with 800x480 resolution
  15. dvdcatalyst
    Offline

    dvdcatalyst Guest

    Handbrake, no idea, in DVD Catalyst, in the preview you can set the start and stop position for the conversion so you can trim off the titling or selec a small portion of the video.
  16. sillyrabbitt123
    Offline

    sillyrabbitt123 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    cool thanks!!!
  17. sillyrabbitt123
    Offline

    sillyrabbitt123 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    DVD Catalyst doesnt really work for trimming video.

    What do people use to edit their videos if need be?

    thanks
  18. wuyanks
    Offline

    wuyanks DF News Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Update:

    using Handbrake 0.9.3, default iphone setting... changed resolution to 800x480, and the rips now work on the Droid well...

    need to try out some more rips later, to see if 854x480 works.
  19. dvdcatalyst
    Offline

    dvdcatalyst Guest

    The main intention for the trimming capabilities of DVD Catalyst is for removing the start/end credits from movies to save some file-space. This was quite useful when the 1GB cards were still selling for $50, but now, it's hardly ever used.
  20. sillyrabbitt123
    Offline

    sillyrabbitt123 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the info :)
Search tags for this page
android mp4 audio no video
,
android mp4 no video
,
android mp4 problem
,
droid mp4 not showing video
,

droid x mp4

,
handbrake video not playing
,
how to play mp4 video on droid x
,
m4v play on android
,
m4v video problem
,
mp4 for droids
,
mp4 no video android
,
mp4 not playing on android
,

mp4 on droid

,
razor m mp4 problems
,
video player droid bionic m4v