Please help with facebook

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by justin482005, Sep 24, 2011.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. justin482005
    Offline

    justin482005 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok i have searched and read the threads and i have found nothing that works


    here is the issue when i had my droid x when i added facebook account it synced no problem just got the droid 3 today and facebook will not sync with my contacts or my social status widgets its driving me crazy and i cant figure it out


    please someone help me out on this one thanks
  2. REMilk
    Offline

    REMilk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    764
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    On a Cribbage board
    Ratings:
    +7
    On the Droid 3,
    1. Open "Contacts"
    2. Press Menu/Settings/Display options
    3. Under "Contacts to display" select all those (including Facebook) that you want displayed
    4. Press Save
    Your Facebook contacts are now displayed with your main contact list.

    Good Luck,
    Bob
  3. justin482005
    Offline

    justin482005 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    that didnt work for me and i have also tried removing facebook acct and adding it back and deleting the app and trying it again .....
  4. Fr33dom
    Offline

    Fr33dom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Have you confirmed that your battery saver settings aren't too restrictive?
  5. justin482005
    Offline

    justin482005 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have confirmed that. I called verizon and tech support wasn't sure what was going on and finally he told me that the newer droid models thatmotorola /facebook/google have disabled this feature ! So I guess untill a lot of people start complaining about it we won't be seeing that
  6. Fr33dom
    Offline

    Fr33dom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Well they must have disabled it on every phone except mine.

    Actually I think they disabled allowing apps to do that. But they added the ability to the accounts settings.
  7. justin482005
    Offline

    justin482005 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well please tell me if you don't care what I need todo

    Thanks

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  8. lotzakritters
    Offline

    lotzakritters Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Quick question? Is your phone rooted and did you maybe freeze or remove something that isn't allowing it to sync. I had the same thing happen a few days ago. All I did was delete the facebook app and remove the facebook account in my accounts. Reboot, re-setup the facebook account again and downloaded the facebook app, logged in and they all came back. Not all of them did till I rebooted one last time. Now I save an exported copy of all my contacts on my sd card, which saves all contact with pictures. And I save a copy of names and numbers on my sim card. I learned my lesson. Lol

    Sent from my DROID3
  9. justin482005
    Offline

    justin482005 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its not rooted a brand new phone just got it out of the box the other day .and I tried removing the accounts and deleting the facebook app and still nothing. Do you have another way that I could try ?



    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  10. Electronics32
    Offline

    Electronics32 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the same problem and fixed mine today!! Took me 2 days to find the answer but ran across a forum where i had to download SQ Lite from the market. Once you get that open and go to account storage then serviceaccounts.db them click on accounts. Then scroll to the right until u find "account_pretty_name" and the line that has Facebook in it click on that and delete record, then exit out and go to accounts and re-add ur facebook account! Hope this helps!! It worked for me!! :) Oh and of course u gotta be rooted.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  11. lotzakritters
    Offline

    lotzakritters Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You might want to try and do a factory reset. If you do that it will reset all you accounts. You will have to set up all of you accounts again, but it might fix your problems. One thing, when it askes you to reset/re-format, make sure you have you sd card (NOT) check off, just your internal storage. After that is done you will have to activate you phone again, like brand new. I've had 1 time when it wouldn't let me activate my phone after a reset. I fixed it my doing the factory reset again...

    Sent from my DROID3
  12. justin482005
    Offline

    justin482005 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did the factory reset the other day and it didn't work however I didn't check the box that said internal storage



    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  13. justin482005
    Offline

    justin482005 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I def don't wanna root the phone but thanks for the reply I wish I could try that without my phone being rooted

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  14. lotzakritters
    Offline

    lotzakritters Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you didn't check the box that said internal storage, then you didn't do a full reset. Not sure what else you could try. Sorry

    Sent from my DROID3
  15. jolee217
    Offline

    jolee217 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same Issue

    I am having the exact same issue. I have a stock Verizon Droid 3. I have no intention of rooting it. I received it yesterday, so it is brand new.

    I would like to have my Facebook contacts appear in my contacts list. It would be even better if they synced and updated regularly the contact information and pictures.

    On older phones there appears to be options I do not have. And I have tried about ever forum post suggestion out there.

    If I go into Settings ---> Accounts ---> Facebook : the only option is to put in my user name and password. The menu button does nothing. There is no option to sync.

    In the market's Facebook app, as well as the stock "social networking" app, neither of which appear to have a sync. I have tried uninstalling and un-linking these in various orders, and nothing has worked thus far.

    In my Contacts ---> Menu ---> Display Options ---> Facebook ---> All Contacts : is checked. Unchecking, and rechecking appears to do nothing.

    In each individual contact there is no reference to FB. On my old phone there was a facebook user name if they were on FB.

    And lastly, when I click on a contact's image in my email/text/etc, there is no option to contact that person via FB.

    ANY thoughts would be appreciated.