1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Not staying connected to data network

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Tech Support' started by DROID11, Sep 2, 2011.

  1. DROID11
    Offline

    DROID11 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    While I have heard the complaint from many many people about the bolt not staying connected to the data network (when in a 4g area) I haven't experienced it other than at work until now. Where I work it is a marginal coverage area, so I just use wifi. Where I live however I always used to be constantly connected to 4G. Also, my commute home from work I was always connected to 4G. Until the past week that is. I haven't added or updated any apps that may be causing this. I have hit the 7+ gb mark of data usage for the month and I'm kinda thinking I'm getting throttled but not sure. I really don't want to have to do a factory data wipe because that's such a huge hassle. I don't think any of the apps that are supposed to keep data connectivity do anything but I could be wrong. Any suggestions?
  2. flyian
    Offline

    flyian New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've had a Thunderbolt for about two weeks now and had the same problem. The "mobile network" setting kept showing "connection failed." I have unlimited data, so knew that was not the problem. I also noticed I was no longer getting 3G or 4G at the top of the display.

    Verizon Tech Support suggested I remove the battery for 20-30 seconds. This I did, after shutting the phone off first, and it worked great!
  3. DROID11
    Offline

    DROID11 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio
    I take the battery out for 20-30 seconds several times a day to swap from battery to battery. That's a temporary fix at best. Little too much of a hassle to do that a bunch times a day just to get data connectivity. There's no point of having lightning fast internet if you have to wait 3-5 minutes total (battery pull and start up) to use it. Same goes with turning all connections off and back on. If that would fix the problem for an entire day it'd be great but it only fixes it for a very short span of time.
    I've had the bolt since a week or 2 after launch and never had this problem til now. I traveled outside of my home area (with 4g Lte) to another area that has LTE connectivity and I almost wonder if that has something to do with it.
    I'm not too upset with it I just find it odd that I never did that until now. Rather not have to deal with a clnr, but maybe if I go through enough of those ill get the bionic or something different :/. I don't want to have to do that, but I have heard of so many issues with the clnr for the bolt in particular that I'm scared to even do the warranty replacement.
  4. Googleaddict
    Offline

    Googleaddict New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    I have the same issue but only with 4g. 3g works fine. :/

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
  5. MadeForJesus
    Offline

    MadeForJesus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same problem. At my house I always had constant 4g service, now never. Most of the time no data connection. Sometimes even 1x. I am on my first replacement and I still have the exact problem. Also I am getting double texts when receiving. Some texts I never even get.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  6. mkny24
    Offline

    mkny24 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Losing Data Connection

    I have been losing data connection multiple times an hour. I put the mobile network widget on my home screen and when i turn mobile network off then back on it reconnects instantly to 4g. I am in nyc a strong 4g area. It has been happening a lot more lately, used to be a couple times a day now all the time. I shouldnt have to use the widget every 10 minutes. used it twice while typing this.....
  7. rbw62
    Offline

    rbw62 New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have same problem. I live in Atlanta area, 4G area, been on 4G for 5 months, until about a week back. Went to VZW store, no help, called tech support last Friday, went thru the usual pull battery, pull sim, airplane mode, then he says I live on edge of 4G network....had me do factory reset, nothing worked. Called tech today, he said VZW lost a tower to competition, now that makes sense, but I should be still picking 4G up, within 2 miles of other tower, they r shipping.g new phone today...

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  8. rbw62
    Offline

    rbw62 New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Update, just received new phone, guess what? It connects to 4G and stays. The tech support at VZW is lacking to say the least. One day I will find someone in tech support who knows more than I do.....

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  9. eldub
    Offline

    eldub New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    did they ship you a new phone or a refurbished (certified like new) phone? Did you get it from manufacturer warranty or the warranty you have to pay for? If Verizon sent you a brand new phone i'm curious how you pulled that off. I have been having the same issue but am reluctant to replace my phone with a refurb.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  10. Jeninden
    Offline

    Jeninden New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have had it with Verizon and this problem. I've jumped through all their dumb troubleshooting steps that seem to be really intended as a distraction from a problem Verizon won't admit they have with these phones. I'm infuriated with the amount of time I have wasted with this problem (connection failed, no 4G, sometimes not even 3G). The last person I talked to said that it could be any one of my adroid applications installed on the phone that is knocking the data connection off. I'm all for the free open market of android, but if Verizon can't guarantee their phones will work the way they should - how can they market them as phones intended to have these applications installed on? They even put the Android market right on the main page of the phone. I was never told that if I installed a certain (unknown by Verizon) application on the phone, I may not get the services I pay for. This is irresponsible and fraudulent Verizon. All Verizon Thunderbolt owners afflicted with this problem - complain to the FCC and the Attorney general in your state at: How To Complain about your Wireless Service. Maybe if enough of us complain something will change. If the link doesn't work - google "how to complain about Verizon wireless."

    Oh and just an additional rambling... I was told that my phone "build version" was "outdated" but then when a software update search was done, nothing was found. The rep seemed confused, but then said "oh, you just have to wait for them to roll it out to your phone." The fact that my phone build version is out of date and my phone is not working right seem to be connected. What crappy customer service. I think they know about this problem, but can't figure out how to fix it. Irresponsible.
  11. rbw62
    Offline

    rbw62 New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Make them give you a new phone, I did and problem solved. It is not any of the issues you were told, the phone has a defect. Verizon is well aware of the THE issue with 4g.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  12. BucksBroke
    Offline

    BucksBroke New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am gonna call tech support tomorrow. Tried what seems to work for everyone else to no avail. Stuck on 1x. This will be replacement number 2 because of botched OTA and other issues. Hope the big V is taking notes and will remember our struggles come upgrade time.

    Sent from my Thunderbolt
  13. georgek
    Offline

    georgek New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I'm having the same problem with losing data in a 4g area. It happens so often that it makes using data impossible. 3g works fine. Took the battery out and restarted the phone and still the same problem. Seems to be getting worse lately. It's frustrating. Can't wait until I'm able to upgrade so I can get rid of this phone.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
  14. BucksBroke
    Offline

    BucksBroke New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My 3G is back. Only thing I know I did was to go out and query for the new OTA to see if available and looks like that got my phone back on the network. No OTA, after a few data toggles, went to 3g and been there all afternoon.

    Sent from my Thunderbolt
  15. Charged
    Offline

    Charged Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have GB and my phone is still garbage with jumping to 3G or 1X when I can see the Verizon 4g tower from my house. I still have to constantly turn mobile data on and off to get an internet connection through my computer (via mobile hotspot). I've even had to reboot my phone because mobile hotspot would refuse to acknowledge that I had even clicked on it.
  16. 337gtikid
    Offline

    337gtikid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK so im having a similar issue, im on my second thunderbolt because my first one was stolen. At my job i had consistent and fast 4g/3g connectivity on my first thunderbolt. after it was stolen, i had to go back to a regular droid and i went to craigslist and bought another thunderbolt. The problem with this current phone is places i had 3g/4g connection i only have 1x symbol. if i were to check my phone 9/10 times it would say 1x. i barely connect to 4g/3g and when i do sometimes it still wont load pages or videos but shows the 3g/4g icon. I called verizon tech, pulled battery, sim car, and did a factory reset but i still get nothing. and because it wasnt bought through them there is no warranty. i have no idea what could be the difference in why my 1st TB connected and and my 2nd TB wont connect for crap. I use my phone alot at work and since the 4G signal is strong out here that was my whole purpose of getting it, now im kinda screwed, any suggestions
  17. eldub
    Offline

    eldub New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Latest OTA

    This problem started for me after the July OTA, and ended after the latest Gingerbread OTA. Have you downloaded the latest software update? My phone is stock and I don't want to root until the warranty runs out since rooting voids the warranty, but since your don't have a warranty anyway you may want to consider rooting since you can change roms and radios which will probably help your bolt perform better.
  18. 337gtikid
    Offline

    337gtikid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got the phone Tuesday night and it had a software update I am running 2.3.4 I went to the Verizon store this morning and had a new sim card pit in it but I'm still noticing the 2x signal in some areas, ill chrch when I get to work if it still has 1x ill have to do some research on rooting cause that means this phones radio is garbage
  19. 337gtikid
    Offline

    337gtikid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I got to work and the phone still shows 1x and sometimes loses data all together, which means the sim card didnt do anything so now I'm stuck between rooting or just selling it. You said I could root it and download software to improve radio signal? How would i do that
  20. eldub
    Offline

    eldub New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    check your settings before rooting

    I'm no expert, and I really don't have the time to make playing with my phone a career so I am stock. Poke around the internet about rooting the thunderbolt and you will find lots of info. Some things you may want to check on your phone first: follow the instructions on this site, How to disable 4G on the HTC Thunderbolt for battery savings | How To - CNET, except make sure the "CDMA+LTE/EvDo auto" option is selected.
    Go to menu > setting > wireless and networks > make sure mobile network has a green check and says connected > from there go to mobile networks > network mode > make sure LTE/CDMA is selected.
    This is obvious, but make sure WiFi is turned off.
    Whatever you do, do not dial *228 like you would on a non-4g phone to update roaming. If you do it will damage your sim card.
    Sorry you are having this problem, I know how frustrating it can be. Luckily this problem seemed to be fixed for many people by the latest OTA, good luck I hope you can get it worked out. This is why I would be very nervous buying a refurbished or used phone, I cringe every time Verizon's solution to any problem I have that isn't fixed by a factory reset is to exchange it for a "certified like new phone" which is a fancy way of saying a refurbished phone that someone checked to make sure it powers up.
Search tags for this page
android data connection failed
,

data connection failed android

,
driod not connecting to network
,
droid dna problems with connecting to network
,
htc thunderbolt can't connect to internet
,
htc thunderbolt internet connection problems
,

htc thunderbolt internet not working

,

htc thunderbolt internet problems

,

htc thunderbolt network connection problems

,
htc thunderbolt not connecting to data
,
htc thunderbolt won't stay connected to network
,
internet problems on thunderbolt
,
lg revolution no signal
,
page plus internet problems
,
phone wont stay connected to service