No Navigation Volume Now?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by MonkeyTime, Sep 13, 2011.

  1. MonkeyTime

    MonkeyTime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    East Troy, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is this a change to Google Maps or part of the "tweeks" Motorola made to GB?

    There used to be a seperate volume control you could adjust through Google Maps, one that wasn't tied to Media Volume. I almost never had the volume turned up for navigation, especially if I was streaming music or had internet sports radio on. Now they're tied together so If I have music turned up, I get the navigation voice up too.

    Any chance I'm just missing a setting?
     
  2. Mustang02

    Mustang02 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    7,627
    Likes Received:
    5,116
    Trophy Points:
    1,563
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6,074
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P/5X
    It's controlled by the media, no separate volume control.
     
  3. lanza_david

    lanza_david Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is a GB change, not Motorola or Bionic. I am running GPA17 on my OG, and the navigation volume is gone too. You can mute the navigation though (menu, mute) . You just cannot control the volume separately.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  4. MonkeyTime

    MonkeyTime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    East Troy, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Was this a GB change or a Google Maps change, anyone have an idea? If it was maps, I now have my reason to root and I'll look for an older version to load up...
     
  5. lanza_david

    lanza_david Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    True, could have been a Google Maps change.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  6. lanza_david

    lanza_david Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    How could we let Google know our concerns about this decision? no matter what it is, Maps or OS, I would think that is a feature that many people would like back.
     
  7. techguru

    techguru Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    it is a google maps change with the latest update. i like that it doesn't mute my music, but not that i can't balance the music and nav volumes.
     
  8. MonkeyTime

    MonkeyTime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    East Troy, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Then does anyone have a backup of an older version of maps? The program doesn't allow uninstall of upgrades and this is a biggie for me. I did a google search, but came up empty.
     
  9. MonkeyTime

    MonkeyTime Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    East Troy, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    -Update-

    I was mistaken, there is a way to uninstall the updates, unfortunately, it keeps autoinstalling the update abou every other day. Is there a way to keep if from updating? I looked at TiBackup, but I could only find a way to freeze the app which makes it unavailable.
     
  10. AndyMcDroid

    AndyMcDroid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    You should be able to disable automatic updates in the Market. This option is set per app.

    Alternatively, you could use Titanium Backup to break the link with the Market for a specific app - preventing the app from updating. Long-press on the app in Titanium Backup and you should see an option for "break market link", or something close to that.
     
  11. gwbennett

    gwbennett New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can confirm this is not gingerbread specific. It is either motorola or google maps, as my Thundebolt still has separate navaigation and media volumes. Not sure who thought it was a good idea to combine them, but they were mistaken! :blink:
     
  12. lanza_david

    lanza_david Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    How can we let google know how bad of an idea it is?!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
android disappear volume
,
android volume control missing
,
changing the volume of navigation
,
droid bionic navigation missing
,

droid navigation volume

,
droid x navigation volume
,
motorola navigation volume
,
navigation app with seperate volume android
,
navigation on droid bionic gone
,
volume in navigation bar