No menu button on the Nexus?

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by ZBacks, Dec 18, 2011.

  1. ZBacks

    ZBacks Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was at the Verizon store to compare the Razr and Nexus and could not find a menu button on it like all other Android phones. Am I missing something?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  2. joeybarclay

    joeybarclay Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    The menu button only shows up when you need it. It will be with the home, back, and multitasking buttons or somewhere else (upper right in the market)
     
  3. xliderider

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
    It's easy to miss, if you don't know what to look for. It is a vertical row of three dots either at the upper right, or lower left of the screen usually.
     
  4. orion2001

    orion2001 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm not sure if I'm a big fan of the change with regards to the menu button. It isn't enforced in a standardized manner, and different apps display it in different parts of the screen. On the browser, it shows up on the top-right, but only after you tap to get the URL bar displayed. I quite liked having a consistent menu button at a consistent location across all apps. I don't see why they didn't just leave it in the bottom..with it being displayed for apps that had a menu screen, and hidden for apps that did not have any menu options.
     
  5. ZBacks

    ZBacks Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree, the great thing about android was all the main buttons were always in the same spot.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  6. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,077
    Likes Received:
    1,503
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,667
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    It's really something you get used to, after 4 days of using this phone I've grown more accustomed to it and not looking for the menu button that's found on older phones. What I still haven't gotten used to is the fact that the menu buttons moves depending on what app you're using. Makes for a much cleaner looking OS though:hail:
     
  7. orion2001

    orion2001 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yeah, but it baffles me as to why they would do that. For the average user, it has got to be a step backwards, because they are going to be a lot more confused about why the settings button isn't available at times, and why it keeps moving all over the place. From a usability perspective, it just doesn't make much sense to me.

    Still, it's better than not having any settings button as on IOS. I've lost count of the number of times I've been itching to hit a menu button on my iPad, only to remember that I can't...and then getting annoyed that I have to go to a separate "Settings" app to change browser or other app settings.
     
  8. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    You can install the soft key mod over on xda to add the menu button always at the bottom
     
  9. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,454
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    I really like the new menu set up, less is more :)

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. orion2001

    orion2001 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks. My concern is more that this will be the standard going forward since this is part of ICS and will remain in non nexus ICS devices in the future as well. For someone like me, it's no biggie and I can easily adapt, but I just feel that it is fundamentally less intuitive and will be an issue for your average mom/pop who just picked up their fancy new ICS smartphone.

    I'm a little worried when it comes to Google and UI decisions lately...have you seen how horrible their new Gmail look is? It sure looks slick, but is completely unintuitive to a lay person.
     
  11. rjcapp

    rjcapp Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MD
    Ratings:
    +4
    .
    .
    .




    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
add menu button for galaxy nexus in android
,

galaxy nexus menu button

,
galaxy nexus menu key
,
i cant find the menu key on my nexus 4
,
nexus 5 has no menu button
,
nexus no menu button
,
samsung nexus menu button
,
what is the menu button on my nexxus
,
where is the menu button on samsung galaxy nexus
,
why doesn't nexus have a menu key