1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

New member

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by 2ns, Apr 6, 2012.

  1. 2ns
    Offline

    2ns New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi. Had my original motorola droid for a couple years now, will upgrade soon. I've lurked once in a while but rarely join forums to keep internet footprint low.

    Had a weird problem last night that MIGHT be fixed so for the moment I'll just ask that since I no longer seem to able to set a song as a ringtone from "google
    music" now that it is "play music", what is the best way to do that now.
  2. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,512
    Likes Received:
    296
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kansas
    Hello and welcome! Glad to see ya registered ;)..

    I don't think you can set a ringtone from Google Music as that is music is not stored on your SD card or phone storage...you would only be able to set what is availabe in storage...if I am mis-thinking, I apologize upfront...
  3. 2ns
    Offline

    2ns New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks.

    The music is stored on my card. Maybe I'm remembering how I originally did it wrong?
  4. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,512
    Likes Received:
    296
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kansas
    You can use the app "ringdroid" to trim / create a ringtone from your music and then it will show up in the options ringtones - you can apply by contact or in phone settings, sounds...
  5. devdeuce
    Offline

    devdeuce Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    best app ever, only way your ringtone won't suck

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  6. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,932
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Welcome to Droid Forums 2ns!! :biggrin:
  7. 2ns
    Offline

    2ns New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes. That's what I did and it is working for now. It didn't work last night.

    Had a weird problem last night where my ringtone (standard song) and notification sound (made with ringdroid) both disappeared. I had these in seperate folderswhich were then put in a media folder. Oddly, the songs in the alarms folders were still there and working. I seem to remember originally setting the ringtone straight from google music by long pressing and found out last night I no longer could. I set up the folders originally just so I could use songs for my alarm. I connected my droid to my computer and saw the songs were still in the folders, they just didn't show up on the phone ringtone or notification sounds menus. I added the song to the ringtone folder again and used ringdroid to make a new notification tone, also used ringdroid to make a new ringtone. They showed up in the menus but would not play, then they disappeared again.:angry: I tried this 2 or 3 times, also tried removing battery a few times. Tonight ringdroid worked, I just hope they hold this time.

    After all this, I wondered why I couldn't set a ringtone by long pressing a song in google music anymore and if there was another way to do it straight from the phone since that doesn't work anymore.
  8. 2ns
    Offline

    2ns New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the welcomes!
  9. SFGate
    Offline

    SFGate New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Welcome to the site. Hope the situation stays fixed. DancingNexus
  10. 2ns
    Offline

    2ns New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I actually had to reset them again last night. Fortunately, they didn't disappear this time and I only had to re-select them. I think I just need a new phone. I was going to get a nexus but am waiting a couple of weeks to see whats coming. Hoping the S3 comes soon and to Verizon.
  11. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,932
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    I think the S3 on VZW would make a lot of people happy. Not sure what the latest rumors are though.
  12. 2ns
    Offline

    2ns New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    May give up in a week or so and go with nexus. Has the speaker improved any as far as loudness?