need to swith to sp recovery from clockwork mod

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by tiggerxplur, May 12, 2010.

  1. tiggerxplur

    tiggerxplur Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Ratings:
    +1
    i installed a rom using rom manager now wont boot past the droid eye i only have a backup with sp recovery how can i go back if i can only get into clockwork
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2010
  2. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,445
    Likes Received:
    297
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +297
    re-flash sprecovery: Video: Flashing SPRecovery SBF to Stock 2.1 | Droid Life: A Motorola Droid Blog

    that says for stock 2.1, but the process will work in any situation to flash sprecovery to your phone

    also, if you selected "backup current rom" when you installed through rom manager, you should be able to restore that through clockwork

    EDIT: given that you've had sprecovery before, i probably told you stuff you already know...
     
  3. tiggerxplur

    tiggerxplur Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Ratings:
    +1
    i was just dumb for not making a backup cause installed the jrummy rom and it worked fine so decided i would use the goodies and uninstall a few apps and it wouldnt boot i just didnt expect that to happen
     
  4. tiggerxplur

    tiggerxplur Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Ratings:
    +1
    have rsdlite open and phone connected to pc and cannot install sbf file

    says under status

    failed flashing process. failed flashing process.unable to retrieve initialization values ini file. (0x7029); phone connected
     
  5. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,445
    Likes Received:
    297
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +297
    hmm - been through the checklist in that link? booted into bootloader (if so, what does it say?), sbf file NOT on your desktop, running rsd as admin, right usb drivers, using your factory droid usb cable (or one that handles data), battery not low... what else...
     
  6. tiggerxplur

    tiggerxplur Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Ratings:
    +1
    bootloader says

    bootloader
    2c.6c


    batteryok
    ok to program
    transfer mode:
    usb

    everything else i have done
     
  7. tiggerxplur

    tiggerxplur Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Ratings:
    +1
    maybe someone can send me a clockwork mod backup rom and i can fix this the ones i found on my pc give me a md5 mismatch error


    i was running jrummy .07

    backup i tried was from the latest cyanogen
     
  8. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,445
    Likes Received:
    297
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +297
    are you running win7 64bit - 64bit seems to be real buggy with rsd...

    every thread i found talking about your "initialization" error ended up being fixed by using rsdlite 4.6 as opposed to another version (4.5.7 or whatever)... though, one person said they had to use a whole other computer entirely and did the exact same thing and it worked fine. I have seen occasionally somebody downloading the sbf file again and reinstalling rsd and the usb drivers and it working, but that obviously could get redundant.

    if you can get another rom's update.zip onto your sdcard manually you might be able to go that route, otherwise you might want to ask to have this moved over into the hacking rescue squad section... sorry i can't think of much else :(
     
  9. tiggerxplur

    tiggerxplur Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Ratings:
    +1
    i have a micro sd converter so i can plug that into my pc and transfer files to my pc and vise versa

    i do have win 64 bit so where can i find the new rsdlite i have 4.5.3

    and i did post this in the rescue squad section
     
  10. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,445
    Likes Received:
    297
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +297
    EDIT: MAKE SURE THE THIRD LINK IS MEDIAFIRE - I ACCIDENTALLY POSTED A LINK TO A 2.0.1 STOCK .SBF FILE THE FIRST TIME...

    i bet the rsd 4.5.3 is the problem - here is the link for 4.6: RSDLite4.6.7z

    make sure you fully uninstall 4.5.3 first and report back - i'll be curious!

    and in case you need it, from the same post, link for motorola drivers for 64bit: http://direct.motorola.com/hellomoto/Common/Drivers%20and%20Plug%20ins/USB_Drivers_64_bit_4.2.0.zip

    as well as the link for the .sbf file from the same post: http://www.mediafire.com/?jgt1gjgx5gv

    I only post those others b/c I've used those exact files and had zero problems flashing. I'm on Win7 32 bit though.
     
  11. tiggerxplur

    tiggerxplur Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Ratings:
    +1
    thank you alot for the links ill post here again when i get this all done hope it works
     
  12. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,445
    Likes Received:
    297
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +297
    posting again to make sure you get the mediafire download for the sprecover .sbf file in my previous post - the first time i posted i accidentally linked to the 2.0.1 stock .sbf file and you DON'T want to do that!
     
  13. tiggerxplur

    tiggerxplur Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Ratings:
    +1
    now when i hit start nothing happens

    i did get the ese81sbf

    wont even show my phone
     
  14. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,445
    Likes Received:
    297
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +297
    crap man, i don't know at this point... sorry - keep playing with it though, rsd is finicky
     
  15. tiggerxplur

    tiggerxplur Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Ratings:
    +1
    some one PMed me with his back up so its all working now