need to swith to sp recovery from clockwork mod

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by tiggerxplur, May 12, 2010.

  1. tiggerxplur
    Offline

    tiggerxplur New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    i installed a rom using rom manager now wont boot past the droid eye i only have a backup with sp recovery how can i go back if i can only get into clockwork
    Last edited: May 12, 2010
  2. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    re-flash sprecovery: Video: Flashing SPRecovery SBF to Stock 2.1 | Droid Life: A Motorola Droid Blog

    that says for stock 2.1, but the process will work in any situation to flash sprecovery to your phone

    also, if you selected "backup current rom" when you installed through rom manager, you should be able to restore that through clockwork

    EDIT: given that you've had sprecovery before, i probably told you stuff you already know...
  3. tiggerxplur
    Offline

    tiggerxplur New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    i was just dumb for not making a backup cause installed the jrummy rom and it worked fine so decided i would use the goodies and uninstall a few apps and it wouldnt boot i just didnt expect that to happen
  4. tiggerxplur
    Offline

    tiggerxplur New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    have rsdlite open and phone connected to pc and cannot install sbf file

    says under status

    failed flashing process. failed flashing process.unable to retrieve initialization values ini file. (0x7029); phone connected
  5. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    hmm - been through the checklist in that link? booted into bootloader (if so, what does it say?), sbf file NOT on your desktop, running rsd as admin, right usb drivers, using your factory droid usb cable (or one that handles data), battery not low... what else...
  6. tiggerxplur
    Offline

    tiggerxplur New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    bootloader says

    bootloader
    2c.6c


    batteryok
    ok to program
    transfer mode:
    usb

    everything else i have done
  7. tiggerxplur
    Offline

    tiggerxplur New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    maybe someone can send me a clockwork mod backup rom and i can fix this the ones i found on my pc give me a md5 mismatch error


    i was running jrummy .07

    backup i tried was from the latest cyanogen
  8. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    are you running win7 64bit - 64bit seems to be real buggy with rsd...

    every thread i found talking about your "initialization" error ended up being fixed by using rsdlite 4.6 as opposed to another version (4.5.7 or whatever)... though, one person said they had to use a whole other computer entirely and did the exact same thing and it worked fine. I have seen occasionally somebody downloading the sbf file again and reinstalling rsd and the usb drivers and it working, but that obviously could get redundant.

    if you can get another rom's update.zip onto your sdcard manually you might be able to go that route, otherwise you might want to ask to have this moved over into the hacking rescue squad section... sorry i can't think of much else :(
  9. tiggerxplur
    Offline

    tiggerxplur New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    i have a micro sd converter so i can plug that into my pc and transfer files to my pc and vise versa

    i do have win 64 bit so where can i find the new rsdlite i have 4.5.3

    and i did post this in the rescue squad section
  10. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    EDIT: MAKE SURE THE THIRD LINK IS MEDIAFIRE - I ACCIDENTALLY POSTED A LINK TO A 2.0.1 STOCK .SBF FILE THE FIRST TIME...

    i bet the rsd 4.5.3 is the problem - here is the link for 4.6: RSDLite4.6.7z

    make sure you fully uninstall 4.5.3 first and report back - i'll be curious!

    and in case you need it, from the same post, link for motorola drivers for 64bit: http://direct.motorola.com/hellomoto/Common/Drivers%20and%20Plug%20ins/USB_Drivers_64_bit_4.2.0.zip

    as well as the link for the .sbf file from the same post: http://www.mediafire.com/?jgt1gjgx5gv

    I only post those others b/c I've used those exact files and had zero problems flashing. I'm on Win7 32 bit though.
  11. tiggerxplur
    Offline

    tiggerxplur New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    thank you alot for the links ill post here again when i get this all done hope it works
  12. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    posting again to make sure you get the mediafire download for the sprecover .sbf file in my previous post - the first time i posted i accidentally linked to the 2.0.1 stock .sbf file and you DON'T want to do that!
  13. tiggerxplur
    Offline

    tiggerxplur New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    now when i hit start nothing happens

    i did get the ese81sbf

    wont even show my phone
  14. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    crap man, i don't know at this point... sorry - keep playing with it though, rsd is finicky
  15. tiggerxplur
    Offline

    tiggerxplur New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    some one PMed me with his back up so its all working now
  16. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    good deal!
  17. tiggerxplur
    Offline

    tiggerxplur New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    yea seriously lol i was afraid i was the first person to brick on this forum i think the first person to do so should get a prize haha since its so hard to do
  18. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,435
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    hah - now that would be a fun competition... who can TRULY brick their phone
  19. tiggerxplur
    Offline

    tiggerxplur New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Wonder what the prize would be

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  20. Sam Fisher
    Offline

    Sam Fisher New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey man i know exactly whats going on here, well, sort of, but forget flashing for now, what i need to know its this:

    do you have a nandroid back up from befor you made the switch to clockwork?

    also what is your OS running on your comp, 32 or 64 bit?

    if its 64 bit you might as well no even waste your time because that **** dont work...

    also can you get into your recovery i.e. clockwork?

    flashing is not always the only option, but you must try everything else 3 times before you flash because you can brick your phone much easier doing that.

    lemme know, ill be here all day today