Move from a berry to droid?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by ffeingol, Nov 17, 2009.

1. ffeingol

ffeingol New Member

Sorry if this has been covered already, but it's a bit hard to search for. I'm a server admin and I use my berry primary for server support. It gets used as follows: - receiving email (server monitoring software sends out emails) - check on server status (web interface) - respond to support tickets (web interface) I'm not too worried about the last two becuase I've seen / tested the web browser on the VZW droid and it works fine (much better than the berry). email OTOH, has me a bit nervous. My berry currently monitors 3 email boxes: - blackberry account - gmail - corporate server (pop/imap) My questions are: - How many accounts can the Droid monitor? - Can different accounts have different notifications (i.e. corporate vibrate, gmail just flashes in indicator) - If I'm using IMAP how long does it take for email to show up. Thanks in advance.
  2. JOHNNYG

JOHNNYG New Member

I have the following email accounts set up on my Droid.

Mac
    Road Runner
    GMail
    Corporate Email

All set up very easy

I have had no problems with delayed emails. I get them very quickly.

The exchange settings were easy to set up, and the Droid synced automatically.
  3. ffeingol

ffeingol New Member

Hello,

Any idea how 'quickly' they show up? Can different email accounts notify you in different ways?
  4. Randomocity

Randomocity New Member

I know with my gmail and my corp account, the emails show up faster on the phone than they do my inbox. Its to the point where my phone tells me when new emails come in, even if I'm sitting in front of gmail on my PC. The only thing that does not work particularly well are pop3 accounts.
  5. JOHNNYG

JOHNNYG New Member

When I sent test messages, I received the email in 60 seconds or less. Mayeb quicker, but I know I wasn't waiting around for the email to arrive.