1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Motorola Droid Razr - Installing Jelly Bean (CyanogenMod 10)

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by Philipson, Aug 14, 2012.

  1. Philipson
    Offline

    Philipson New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can now upgrade rooted Razr's to Jelly Bean...

    How to update
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2013
  2. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    FYI to anyone that is going to attempt this, I tried it today and it soft bricked my phone. I had to use the fastboot files to get back to a working .211 ICS state, and am now back to .215 rooted and APPS installed.

    So I have a nice fresh install of ICS, but at the expense of a couple hours of my life gone that won't come back.

    I followed the instructions and received a error during the install and then the reboot just gave a black screen, never fear though because I have my CWM backup right?

    Wrong, that failed as well so it was useless to me :(. Started from scratch I did, again this is just an FYI to those that might try it be prepared to maybe brick your phone.
  3. aktrazer
    Offline

    aktrazer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    I'm in the middle of "foxcatting" my phone. I may give this a try tomorrow and see what kind of results I get.

    What was the error you got? Just so if I see it we can tell if we're seeing the same thing.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX Limited Edition using Droid Forums
  4. aktrazer
    Offline

    aktrazer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    Is it odd that I'm excited about trying this tomorrow? :)

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX Limited Edition using Droid Forums
  5. jailmakerjr
    Offline

    jailmakerjr New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I installed it using safestrap and im not that impressed but i use my camera a lot so that was a negative for me.
  6. Xfactorx316
    Offline

    Xfactorx316 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kentucky
    This would be why I typically do not mess with ROMS...Besides I'd have to wait until they worked out the camera piece.
  7. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Yeah it was a stupid idea really, I don't care about the camera not working but still should have left my phone alone.

    I don't remember the exact wording on my error, but it was Status 7 related. I am curious if maybe I was supposed to be stock .211 instead of on the .215 leak.

    Either way my phone is back to normal and running even better since I did two FDRs after Fastbooting back to .211 and updating back to .215.
  8. itzjusmee
    Offline

    itzjusmee New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    On my Suzuki
    So...JB sucks then? Lol is it much different from ICS?
  9. aktrazer
    Offline

    aktrazer New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    I also got it to run, had to go back to stock. 211. I really don't see what the fuss is about, it's not THAT big of a difference. I flashed back to. 211 again and restored to the way that my RAZR was.. 215 rooted and happy again.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX Limited Edition using Droid Forums
  10. Phreaker47
    Offline

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Getting Google Now on ICS essentially gives us Jellybean, since it's really the only significant new feature. Pass. Wait for official.
  11. jasonwuzthere
    Offline

    jasonwuzthere New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    JB is awesome. It prioritizes user input over running tasks (what they call butter) and really is more snappy and responsive. The only reason I'm not using Directory index ยท styled with h5ai right now is because I have to have the camera working.
    Saying something sucks based on 1 persons bad experience with an experimental ROM seems a bit of a jump. lol That forum keeps getting hacked (someone angered someone? I dunno.) so there isn't a support thread anymore (as of yet) and last I heard Dhacker29 stopped working on it until he finishes his CM9 builds.
    You HAVE to used safestrap with this, he says he doesn't know how/if it will work with bootstrap. Last time I installed it I came from CM9, flashed this, rebooted completely, since camera didn't work figured I'd restore data for poops and giggles and it worked. Rebooted to all my apps/data. lol
    Sorry to ramble. :biggrin:
  12. narrowpath
    Offline

    narrowpath New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    anyone else having issues with getting wifi running? i've rebooted the phone several times and it just says "turning on wifi"?
  13. TDJ112
    Offline

    TDJ112 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Most ROMS are OK....just make sure you read the entire thread to see how others have done...not the best idea to be the first one to try it liek that dude....lol
  14. TDJ112
    Offline

    TDJ112 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You should prob post this in that thread as well...
  15. jasonwuzthere
    Offline

    jasonwuzthere New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try toggling airplane mode or rebooting.
  16. Sydman
    Offline

    Sydman Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Naw, looks like it might have been my fault for being on .215 instead of going back to stock .211.
  17. narrowpath
    Offline

    narrowpath New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    subscribed....waiting for working camera :biggrin:
  18. narrowpath
    Offline

    narrowpath New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it seems like i'm having issues everytime with this install. i can't get the gapps installed for some reason and then when i boot up i have no connectivity to data or wifi. i'm assuming it has something to do with this step that i'm not fully understanding:

    "Upon the installation process, choose install.zip from SD card again and on this occasion, select kernel files to install."

    after i install the ROM .zip file i'm choosing kernal files to install after that? i'm not sure how to do this?
  19. viseo
    Offline

    viseo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
  20. narrowpath
    Offline

    narrowpath New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    that is a very basic tutorial of what i've already done. after i install the ROM i'm getting no data and no wifi. anyone else have this issue?
Search tags for this page
cyanogenmod 10 xt910
,

cyanogenmod droid razr

,

cyanogenmod droid razr maxx

,
cyanogenmod for razr
,

cyanogenmod razr

,

cyanogenmod razr maxx

,
cyanogenmod xt910
,

droid razr cyanogenmod

,
droid razr maxx cyanogenmod 10.2
,
droid razr maxx cyanogenmod 9
,
droid x jelly bean cyanogenmod
,
install cyanogenmod droid razr
,
motorola razr cyanogenmod
,
motorola razr cyanogenmod 10
,
motorola razr xt910 cyanogenmod 10