Moto Droid 3: Unlock Global Mode VZW

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by dmaroni, Dec 12, 2011.

  1. dmaroni
    Offline

    dmaroni New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have been using this Motorola D3 for about 3 months now. Despite the initial TERRIBLE TERRIBLE battery life, after having rooted the phone and slid down the cpu as much as possible, it manages to make it through some days of light use without me running to the charger.

    My question is if there is a way to unlock the sim card block that verizon has put on it without paying them $30. Not to mention, I am not a contracted member, so cannot even get a vzw rep. to speak with me on the phone. My Motorola Droid 2 I believe has the ability to unblock the sim block by changing the voltage kernel. I have yet to overclock either phone, but do have the voltage kernels for both, so I am wondering if replacing this kernel would also unblock the sim card so that I can use the global function of the phone. I am traveling to Europe in a week and need to figure this out as fast as possible. Somebody with more knowledge then I do please help!!!

    HardWare: Moto Droid 3
    System Version: 5.7.894XT862.verizon.en.us
    Software: MavRom v1.1 on version 2.3.4
    Baseband Version N_03.18.29P
    ERI version 5
    PRL version 52526
    CR 5.0.2.6

    Out of the box the phone had a bad overheating problem localized in the battery compartment. Stock motoblur and all ROMS available had freezing issues and would regularly double type fragments of things I'd already typed. Since sliding down the CPU, freezing issues have gone to a minimum. No overhearting, 10x the battery life. I am mainly concerned with unblocking the pin, but also am having connectivity problems via the usb cord (as of just now). It's just reading the usb port on 2 laptops as a charger. I've also tried 2 data type B data cords. It looks as if I will have to tackle this problem before I can change the voltage kernel now anyways. Any helpful thoughts, comments, input appreciated!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


    ~Rooted noob aka Dave
  2. mattv111
    Offline

    mattv111 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    You prob already did this but did you make sure it wasn't on charge only mode?

    Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk
  3. dmaroni
    Offline

    dmaroni New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am not sure what mode it is in because it won't bring down the drop down menu on the android device. The battery indicator simply changes to charging like it would if you plugged it into a wall outlet. I did try it with and without usb debugging enabled, both on my laptop running win7x64 as well as my old laptop running XPx86. Got the same results in both cases
  4. dmaroni
    Offline

    dmaroni New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have also tried wiping the rom and restoring it to how it was 2 weeks ago. Same results. This is very odd. If anyone else has dealt with this before feel free to leave a link to the general discussion. Also, to triple verify it's the D3 malfunctioning, my D2 connects fine on both laptops with both cables
  5. Shimmy549
    Offline

    Shimmy549 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you're not a contracted Verizon customer, how exactly are you using your phone now? I may be missing something, but is the phone active (can make calls, get 3g)? If you have a global phone with Verizon and it's active for at least 90 days, they will give you the unlock code so that you can use the phone abroad.

    How did you get your phone?

    For what it's worth, I never had any of the problems you're having with my Droid 3. Could you have returned it?


    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  6. dmaroni
    Offline

    dmaroni New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I bought the phone off of Ebay from a verizon customer a month after they had gotten it from their upgrade. I am currently attached to a company called page plus cellular. They rent out space on verizon towards and their service runs off of verizon phones. Anywhere in the US I am fine with the CDMA limitation, because there are plenty of choices, PagePlus I believe to be the best available at the moment.

    However, I am traveling to Europe for an extended period of time and need the gsm to be functional. The usb has always worked fine before. I am curious if the Maverick Beta Rom may have already unlocked the SIM card block by removing the bloatware that controls it, but this is untested and I am trying to make sure it works before I spend the money on the SIM card and Service. I am being as descriptive as possible in every aspect, please advise.
  7. dmaroni
    Offline

    dmaroni New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    PS - please do not suggest I contact the ebay seller to call verizon. I have already tried that. Verizon told them that "they don't unlock SIM cards". I am suspect if they actually called the global line or the regular and how hard they pushed for the code (I offered to pay the $30), but all the same the seller has gotten their positive rating and will no longer be of assistance to me unfortunately
  8. kc6wke
    Offline

    kc6wke New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the same issue with the usb cable. I tried 3 different ones and would not connect to the pc. You have to get the factory motorola cable. That is what Verizon tech support stated. I got a motorola cable from ebay and problem solved.
  9. Shimmy549
    Offline

    Shimmy549 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've not seen anything about Maverick ROM being able to unlock the D3 SIM card. As far as I know, the only way to do that is to call Verizon and ask for the unlock code, which requires having a global phone that's been active through Verizon for 90 days or more.

    I'll keep looking into it, but I really don't think that ROM has the ability to unblock GSM for this phone. Awesome if it does, but I think more people would've noticed by now.


    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  10. dmaroni
    Offline

    dmaroni New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay, fair enough. But in the case of the D2 the replacement kernel (generally for overclocking) also served to UnBlock the sim card. I have the replacement kernel and overclock files on hand and have not had a chance to install due to a new usb connectivity issue. May have to unroot and send it in on warranty. It's not the ROM, have also tried it under the Stock ROM (de-odexed version). In any case, it treats my usb port as a charger plug................ very annoying.
  11. dmaroni
    Offline

    dmaroni New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for the input, I will find my factory cable. I have one with the tag on it, 4 foot cord.. I hate short cords. Need to get a usb extension for that one of that turns out to be the issue
  12. micki9559
    Offline

    micki9559 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey!! I'm New To The Forum, But i Have a D2G, And Want To Know Whether the voltage kernel Really Did Unlock the GSM Sim Slot Of the D2 That You Have?? If Yes, Can You Please Pm me A Link to The Files Needed To Flash The Custom ROM With The Voltage Kernel??? Will Be Really Very Grateful To You If You Can Help!!! :)
  13. kyle2351
    Offline

    kyle2351 New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    droid 3 is a global phone and rins on CDMA and GSM so y would you be haveing a problems whit it working off the VZW network like out of the us and as far as the useing the global my phone is in global all the time as for PagePlus it is just a resller of VZW just like the Service wallmart does so just get a pepay SIM CARD and you need to call VZW to add the use of going out of the us to your line or get a SIM for a GSM Service

    Last edited: Apr 2, 2012
  14. 5318008
    Offline

    5318008 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Portland Oregon
    I got my locked D3 off local Craigslist from a former Verizon customer. I paid six bucks at unlock4moto, and I think there are similar code sellers all over eBay. I got the code in 30 minutes and it worked to remove the SIM card lock. If you do this much, you should be able to use GMS carrier SIM cards outside the USA. If you want to use it on AT&T or T-Mobile in the USA, go look in xda's D3 forums for a tutorial. You can flash the radio.img from the XT883 and use a modified build.prop file to remove Verizon's USA carrier lock. I'm on T-Mobile right now with mine. The only real downside is on T-Mobile I only get 2G until they refarm my area.
Search tags for this page

droid 3 global unlock

,

droid 3 unlock code

,
how to unlock a droid 3 global
,
how to unlock droid 3
,
how to unlock droid 3 global
,
how to unlock motorola droid 3 global
,
liberar motorola droid 3 verizon
,
unlock
,
unlock droid 3
,

unlock droid 3 global

,
unlock motorola droid 3
,
xt883 radio.img