Moto Droid 1 Hates Certain Roms?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by devinsetsfire, Nov 3, 2010.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. devinsetsfire
    Offline

    devinsetsfire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright, I did some searching on the forum but couldn't quiet get the answer I was looking for.

    I have a rooted Motorola Droid 2.2 Froyo FRG22D. I have Rom Manager Premium v2.5.0.4 and flash recovery 2.5.0.1

    When I go to "Download Rom" a list populates with several Roms and Addons. I would like to test out CyanogenMod 6.1 RC3 (Or really ANY CyanogenMod)

    I use the Rom Manager to download the Rom and then when it's complete I check the boxes for Backup Existing ROM and Wipe Data and Cache. All seems to be going as planned. Untill I press OK and it reboots into recovery mode to Install the Rom.

    It then boots into Recovery and I don't see the package with the arrow and the Droid dude. I see white font black background that keeps going over and over again saying

    Can't mound /dev/block/mmcblk0. Then it reboots to a Clockwork screen with screen font and it has a few options but nothing seems to be in any of the options for a ROM install so I just reboot device.

    But I have rom's already installed pryor (Ultimate Droid New Era v1.0 works great)

    Is there something that is not allowing me to run CyanogenMod 6.1? is it built for specific phones?

    it happens to most of my Rom's actually it reboots after downloading it from Rom Manager and it says can't install file or directory can't be found or doesn't exsist even thought I JUST downloaded it from Rom Manager and rebooted from the program as well to auto boot into Recovery and do it's magic.

    It's probably a simple fix that I'm missing everytime which usually seems to happen with my rooting/rom questions ha.

    But please bear with me ha I'm new to rooting and mods I'm more knowledgeable of ipod jail breaking and modding.

    P.S. I do flash recovery BEFORE installing the Rom
  2. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    :welcome: to the forum!

    If RM won't work for you, and it's not, you can try a couple of things. First, try installing the ROM and then the Google app pack manually. Second, flash alternate recovery image, then Clockwork Recovery, 3x each alternating. Then try again. If you're still having problems, let us know and we'll try to fix you up. :)
  3. GSXRADDICT
    Offline

    GSXRADDICT Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My wife's Droid does this same thing when it goes back to recovery go into install zip from SD choose zip and go to the folder rom manager downloads to and install it manually

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  4. FranklinWalker
    Offline

    FranklinWalker Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My wife's Droid does not do this same thing lol
  5. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,470
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    I would download the ROM you are interested via a computer get it to your SD card and install it via Recovery, cutting out ROM Manager which is most likely the culprit
  6. devinsetsfire
    Offline

    devinsetsfire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    usually when I try to install a ROM manually from my SD it does the same thing but I'll give it a go.

    Also the first reply to my first post (sorry forgot to quote) how do I do a flash recovery outside of Rom Manager is there a flash app out there?

    Thanks for all the replies I'll try it out and reply back to let you know how it goes.

    Also when download Rom's from website should I leave the file zipped or unzip it's contents? and do I have to rename the zip folder update.zip like I had to do to root the device?
  7. devinsetsfire
    Offline

    devinsetsfire New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    All is figured out I guess my phone likes me to do several backups and wipe and then install rom.

    Thanks for all the help
  8. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    For the record, you don't have to flash recovery EVERY time you install a ROM. Only when it's giving you problems or there's an update. :)

    Glad you got it working!

    Oh, and in future, you could try clearing the download cache before you download a ROM. Sometimes it gets gunked up.