Market Force Closing

Discussion in 'cvpcs' started by jimmiet, Jul 13, 2010.

  1. jimmiet
    Offline

    jimmiet New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I switched to Sapphire and I am very pleased I did. AWESOME JOB GUYS!!! Just have 1 problem. At first I wasn't seeing all my paid apps, so I went with the market hack. Now whenever I go in the market it FC shortly after I download something. Is there a way to uninstall and get back to the original (pre-hack)? TIA -- jimmiet
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 13, 2010
  2. 52brandon
    Offline

    52brandon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    did you install the market fix?
  3. jimmiet
    Offline

    jimmiet New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    At first I didn't and it worked fine until I realized I wasn't seeing all my paid apps, so I then applied the cvpc's market hack and that's when the problems started.
  4. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    I believe the market fix is just some changes to build.prop, so you should be able to grab the one from the system install file and push it back. Someone correct me if I'm wrong, I haven't pulled apart the market hack to see what it does.
  5. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    if the fix is an .apk, I would say reinstall gapps.
  6. jimmiet
    Offline

    jimmiet New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried that, working so far. Thanks for ur help!
  7. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    Happy to help, glad it worked. :)
  8. cvpcs
    Offline

    cvpcs Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the market fix is nothing but a replacement build.prop file
  9. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    so what's the point of the market hack then if the market in the system install file is good? or did i miss something... :icon_eek:
  10. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    The problem for some folks is that certain DRM apps are not showing up in the market on 2.2 builds. The market "hack" is simply a replacement build.prop that fools the market into thinking you are running eclair (ESE81), and those apps should show up. However, with the hack you may lose out on 2.2 only apps like Flash because, again, the market thinks you're running 2.1 (although some claim they can see the flash beta even after applying the hack).

    This hack should become unnecessary quite soon when a valid 2.2 fingerprint for droid comes about as the official OTA looms closer.

    edit: there's a (probably better) explanation of the hack from cvpcs on the 0.8.4 release page.
  11. white_ash143
    Offline

    white_ash143 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    Titanium includes market links when you make backups. Market sync shouldn't be relied upon anyways. It's wishy-washy. Use a backup app that saves market info as well as the apk's. Titanium restored my apps nicely (with data, no issues) and paid apps show up in market.
  12. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    problem is, i can't install titanium until i fix the market :)
  13. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    that's odd. TB installed fine for me on auto-sync.
  14. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    yeah the market just keeps force-closing as it's trying to resync with google - some have installed, but TB hasn't
  15. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    ok, so it FC'd its way to reinstalling everything that google had synced, and it appears to install something now if i try, but it FC's every time it's done...

    should i try the market hack again?
  16. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    when you first do a clean install, and apps are syncing, do NOT open market. it will screw up the restore.

    Wait until you're notified that restore is finished.
  17. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    i never opened the market, simply got the FC messages
  18. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    oh boy. something went wrong with your install.

    FCs are a separate issue that the market hack won't address.

    edit: although it seemed to help OP, so maybe try it for the hell of it.
  19. GodfatherIP
    Offline

    GodfatherIP New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had lots of market FC issues after theming. I think the vending.apk included in the nextang and SG themes have problems. I pushed the vending.apk from the original update to system and have not had a single FC since. If you have a theme installed and are having issues try installing the original vending.apk.
  20. jimmiet
    Offline

    jimmiet New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry...forgot to update. After a couple of market visits after changing the market fixed build.prop to normal build.prop, it started FC'ing again. Pulled n pushed vending.apk from the stock update to see if that works.
Search tags for this page

android apps keep force closing motorola triumph

,

how to fix market force close terminal

,

motorola triumph, contacts, force close