Mainver problems? Not anymore!!

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound Development' started by Bigbootyman, Feb 9, 2012.

  1. Bigbootyman
    Offline

    Bigbootyman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To my fellow ROMheads,
    Those of you reading this are probably as fond of flashing roms as much as I do, but probably not. I love flashing roms. It's addicting and I love having the latest and greatest.
    If there's a new leak, I gotta have it. The only thing that has plagued my fun, has been the stupid mainver. Can I get an Amen?

    I was enlightened today by a post on Scottsroms, by the man himself. This guy is a genius and I think that I can add to his help that he's given with our flashing issues.
    I found and easier way to flash any rom, by not changing the the mainver on my phone, but the mainver in the rom instead. It's so much easier than screwing around with ADB and fastbooting images, etc. I imagine the devs can appreciate this post and implement this into their new leaks.

    #1. Download your favorite rom to your computer
    #2. Download and install 7zip. Grab the .exe file 7-Zip
    #3. Click start and open ALL PROGRAMS. Open the 7-Zip folder and select the file manager.
    #4. Navigate to the folder where your Rom is downloaded to. Mine is in my download folder: computer. user. Bigbootyman. download folder. Rom of choice
    #5. Open the rom, then the kernal folder, then the PH98IMG.zip.
    #6. Here is the fun part. Right click on the android-info file and click EDIT. This is important as you cannot change it if you open it. You will find a similar text to this:
    modelid: PH9810000 cidnum: VZW__001 STUPID MAINVER: 3.10.605.13 hbootpreupdate:12
    I added the STUPID PART
    #7. You can change the mainver to whatever you want from here, but you must maintain the sequence x.xx.xxx.x
    #8. click file, then save and exit.
    #9. you will be asked "Do you want to update in the archive?" Click OK.
    #10. Under the add button with the green +, is a folder with a backwards arrow. Click this
    #11. It will ask you if you want to update the PH98IMG file in the archive. Click OK.
    #12. 7-zip will now update the zip file. Close 7-zip. Your rom is now ready.
    #13. Open the rom to make sure that your changes were saved. Rom -Kernal -PH98IMG -info. If the mainver text reads what you changed it to, smile and exit.
    #14. Make sure to delete any PH98IMG zips from your card, prior to flashing any new roms.
    #15. Transfer the rom to your SD card and flash as you normally would and remember to wipe, wipe, wipe!
    You have now changed your rom to accept any mainver that is on your phone. YAY!!!

    This took me about 3 hours to type, because I only use my 2 index fingers, so I hope you appreciate this post and good luck to all of you!

    Booty out!

    g in the archivein Click yes
  2. mlmiller240
    Offline

    mlmiller240 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goodyear, AZ
    How would you implement this if you were trying to restore a nandroid backup? Or, can this even be done this way?
  3. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Do the steps above after restoring your nandroid. The nandroid backup doesn't flash the kernel which is exactly what the above procedure does.
  4. mlmiller240
    Offline

    mlmiller240 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goodyear, AZ
    Just to make sure, I can do this after I restore the backup? I am on the new mainver and am trying to get back to the nandroid backup, which is stock rooted. Thanks for your help!
  5. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Yes. Mainver will not stop you from restoring your backup. You will however need to restore the kernel before you'll be able to boot into your ROM.
  6. mlmiller240
    Offline

    mlmiller240 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goodyear, AZ
    I tried loading RezRom 1.6 using this method and still got the Mainver is older fail. I changed the mainver to 1.00.000.00, was that the problem?

    Edit: I was on 2.01.605.11 to start. I was coming from an ICS ROM. Now I have a paperwight.
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2012
  7. Bigbootyman
    Offline

    Bigbootyman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    An updated Mainver will stop you from running any previous versions of a rom, with an older mainver. Once you reload 1.6 with the instructions above , you can then go back and restore that older backup of 1.6.
  8. Bigbootyman
    Offline

    Bigbootyman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On second thought, your backup is probably run and saved with the older mainver. This process will not work for backups with older mainvers, unless you change the zip file in your nandroid backup.
  9. mlmiller240
    Offline

    mlmiller240 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goodyear, AZ
    Do you mean change the PHIMG file, or the whole ROM?
  10. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    The mainver in the PH98IMG.zip would have to be greater than 2.01.605.11 not lower. Unless you mean you changed the mainver on your phone.
  11. mlmiller240
    Offline

    mlmiller240 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goodyear, AZ
    I got it to work. Thank god! I changed the ROM to the new Sense one by Joel. My mainver is back to 3.10.605.13.So, are you saying that I can go back to any ROM, or Nandroid as long as I edit the "android info file" to the 3.10.605.13 in the ROM?
  12. Bigbootyman
    Offline

    Bigbootyman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Exactly. Its that simple. You need to change the mainver of any rom or backup that you want to flash, to match the mainver of your device.
  13. mlmiller240
    Offline

    mlmiller240 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Goodyear, AZ
    I think I finally got it!! Your way is a lot easier than some of the ways that are out there! THANKS for all of your help! You too MrSmith! BTW-the new ROM from Joel is pretty SWEET!
  14. kc6wke
    Offline

    kc6wke New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I want to try this on Ineffabilis-v1.0, but the PH98IMG.zip is not in the Ineffabilis-v1.0.zip file.
    Any Ideas/solutions? can I add the PH98IMG.zip file from another rom to the Ineffabilis-v1.0.zip file?
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2012
  15. Bigbootyman
    Offline

    Bigbootyman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, you'll neet to use their PH98IMG.zip. You know the part that reads: Stock Rooted Kernel (Flash in Bootloader) ? well, you'll need to download this and change the file in this zip to whatever your current mainver is.
  16. CrazyJimbo
    Offline

    CrazyJimbo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Total lifesaver, thank you SO MUCH for this!
  17. Tha187um
    Offline

    Tha187um New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    :hail::hail::hail:

    You sir are a savior... I've been having battery issues with ICS CleanROM 3.0 so decided to try 3.1 but it just got stuck on HTC screen, not even the 4G LTE as others had reported... well I went back down to GBE CleanROM 1.7 thinking it was a bad download of ICS but still frozen on HTC screen with no error when flashing PH98 file... well i followed your instructions and Im fully up and running now... thanks...

    I have a question, I was not able to back up my original stock rom, is there a way I can get one? I've searched and I find modified ones, perfect example the GBE 1.7 is the closest Ive found.. can I do OTA with that or IT HAS to be stock rom?

    I downloaded this but im not familiar with RUU

    RUU_Vigor_VERIZON_WWE_2.01.605.11_Radio_RS_0.95.00.1123r_3161E_9K_QMR_release_233635_signed

    would that put me back to stock?

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Mr. Smith, on another post I had asked how long back ups would take with clockwork, well this is the reason why i was never able to back up my original. :( I figured out though that for some reason I HAVE TO wipe out internal storage before i can do the back up :( if I dont wipe it out, it freezes on system and it never moves... after wipe out, I do the back up and it starts scrolling through all the files that it backs up and after system it moves to cache until it finishes, i tried this 3 times and all 3 were the same, system wouldnt start unless I wiped out internal storage. :blink:
  18. Bigbootyman
    Offline

    Bigbootyman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you need to reflash the appropriate ph98img.zip to flash your backup. kind of a PITA, but it works without having to wipe out the internal memory. YOU SHOULD NEVER HAVE TO WIPE YOUR INTERNAL MEMORY, IN ORDER TO FLASH ANY ROM OR BACKUP.
  19. Tha187um
    Offline

    Tha187um New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well this is happening to me in the CREATING a back-up step :(
  20. Bigbootyman
    Offline

    Bigbootyman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I used to have problems with Clockwork too. since I flashed Amonra Recovery, I haven't had any problems. Give it a try and report back.
Search tags for this page
amon ra mainver shooter
,

change mainver

,
change mainver htc one s
,
how to change mainver
,
how to change the mainver in the android-info.txt
,
how to find out your mainver
,
how to get around mainver error
,
htc one xl mainver fix
,

mainver

,
mainver error
,
mainver in rezound
,
mainver is older
,
ph9810000 cidnum
,
verizon htc one mainver
,
what are mainver