Lost my 3g/4g data connectivity...

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by dsprik, Jul 17, 2012.

  1. dsprik

    dsprik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Bellaire, MI
    Ratings:
    +1
    I cannot get my rzr to connect to data. I had Juice Defender on and when the battery dropped to <30% it shut off the data. I recharged to 68% and still had no data connectivity. I opened JD and it still showed it had my data turned off. I disabled JD still to no avail. I uninstalled it. Still no data. I checked Smart Actions and there was nothing blocking data there. I went into LTE On/Off and discovered that something had reset my phone to LTE/CDMA/EvDo/GSM/WCDMA. I reset it to LTE/CDMA/EvDo and restarted my phone. No data icon (Phone calls do work). I rechecked LTE On/Off. It reset BACK to LTE/CDMA/EvDo/GSM/WCDMA. I tried this several times without success. I have now backed up everything with MyBackup Pro. and I am preparing for a full factory reset.

    Anything else I should check before I hit that final button?

    WiFi does work...

    Also did several "battery pulls"...
     
    #1 dsprik, Jul 17, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2012
  2. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,153
    Likes Received:
    4,039
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,529
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    Use wifi and download "restore connection" from the play store.. run it.. see if that solves your issue..
    .

    This is why some of us suggest you not run apps like jd. The only reason really :)

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
     
  3. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,870
    Likes Received:
    608
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +677
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    Also it changing your network type back after you restart is normal. It will always change it back to Global mode, and you will have to go in and change it.

    If you are changing it to that setting you are using you don't have to use that App. You can just go into the phone settings and change it from Global to LTE/CDMA.

    That app is more for when you want to change it to CDMA auto (prl) thus putting it 3g only mode.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX.
     
  4. dsprik

    dsprik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Bellaire, MI
    Ratings:
    +1
    Found it! I was searching in settings when I went into "Data usage". I was just hitting the button to back out of that page when I happened to just catch something... Up on the very top of that page is a "Data On/Off" button. I had never seen that there before (not very observant, I know). I was on that page scrolling down earlier today. Must have accidentally hit it... Not sure I would have put that switch there if I was a developer... But then again I am only a lowly retired science teacher...:biggrin:

    I do want to check if that fixed my switching LTE/CDMA problem...
     
  5. dsprik

    dsprik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Bellaire, MI
    Ratings:
    +1
    Would JD have switched that data switch off?
     
  6. dsprik

    dsprik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Bellaire, MI
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks, guys! Both those suggestions were something I did not think to check also and both logical choices to try for that problem.
     
  7. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,153
    Likes Received:
    4,039
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,529
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    I believe jd does have a function to turn off data at a certain percentage. I don't use it so idk for sure

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
     
  8. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,870
    Likes Received:
    608
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +677
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    Glad you got it working again!
     
  9. dsprik

    dsprik Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Bellaire, MI
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks again! I would like to see that data on/off switch placed right on the main settings page, though.
     
  10. ultraaman

    ultraaman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seeing your post made me look and I had the same issue. This fixed it.

    I have a Droid 2 and started experiencing the same problem 2 days ago - no 3G. I did notice that I received a system update the other day but didn't think anything of it. Under Data Delivery I saw that the Date Enabled was not checked. Once checked, everything was OK.

     
  11. jackiescivic

    jackiescivic Gold Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,628
    Likes Received:
    803
    Trophy Points:
    328
    Location:
    Muskego, WI
    Ratings:
    +881
    JD has a widget for data connectivity, and you can set JD to turn off connectivity anytime the screen is turned off
     
  12. m3incorp

    m3incorp Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Interesting my phone was showing no data yesterday also. I went into data settings and sure enough it was in the off position. I know for a fact that I never set it to off.....things that make you go hmmmm.
     
Search tags for this page
galaxy s3 lost 4g
,
incredible 4g loses 4g
,
juice defender lose 4g
,

lost my 4g connection

,

lost my 4g icon

,
lost my g4 icon on my android phone
,
s3 lost 4g
,

samsung galaxy s3 4g icon disappeared

,

samsung galaxy s3 lost data connectivity

,
where did my samsung s3 4g icon go