Lock Screen

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by jphudy, Nov 9, 2009.

  1. Audiophobe

    Audiophobe Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know it's me but I can'y get this app to work.
    I download it and it doesn't show on my list of apps. I deleted it and downloaded it then did a power off/on and still it does not show. It also does nothing automatically. The lock system works just as it did before downloading.
    Any ideas as to what I'm doing wrong?
     
  2. jphudy

    jphudy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    For those that aren't familiar with widgets - ScreenModeWidget is a WIDGET. That means that it doesn't run like a regular application.

    Welcome to the world of Widgets; You'll love them.

    Find an empty space on your desktop and press and hold a finger on the desktop until a menu opens. Select Widget. Select ScreenModeWidget.

    There are still a couple of things that do need to be fixed in this app. The current version of the app will automatically timeout the screen after about 15 seconds when it is enabled regardless of how long you set the default timeout. I've been talking to the app's developer and he says he's working on correcting that bug.
     
  3. grandkai

    grandkai New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you for that information, I was worried it was my phone. Will look for the next update and hope it corrects this quark.
     
  4. tablatronix

    tablatronix New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Auto lock is dumb, it should be able to have an independant lock timer or manual locking when pressing the power button or soft button.

    Tying it to sleep should be an option.

    And the lock screen sucks, it doesn't show media playing or notifications, blegh.
     
  5. Audiophobe

    Audiophobe Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wow.
    I never knew that.
    So after the screen comes upi I hit OK and is there an adjustment to my personal preferences?
    Thanks for that info for a smartphone Newbie!
     
  6. jismail

    jismail Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I noticed on my phone that if I hit the camera button the phone will wake up now just the same as if I had hit the top power button. (I have also accidentally awoke the screen and dialed without meaning to because of that) Can we disable the camera button from wakeing the phone unless desired?
     
  7. GolfProRM

    GolfProRM Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just tried this and my camera button will not wake up my phone.
     
  8. jismail

    jismail Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    Hmmmm, Mine does on both of the settings that disable the slider lock. If I turn off the widget by setting it back to allowing the lock, then the camera button doesnt turn it on, but as soon as I go back to disabling the slide lock, the camera awakes the phone again.... strange....
     
  9. GolfProRM

    GolfProRM Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Ratings:
    +0
    Didn't realize you were using the widget. Haven't tested that. sorry.
     
  10. jismail

    jismail Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    Is there a differnt version out there?
     
  11. turboale

    turboale New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The idea is there, but the execution is what is lacking. If when you pushed any button or tapped the screen the slider came up, that would make sense. Since the only way to get it to come back on is to push one specific button, it becomes a bit redundant. The iPhone has the best option where there are two timers, one for screen sleep and one to lock it down. Its getting there, but as stated, not quite there yet.
     
  12. deputc26

    deputc26 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I just signed up purely to reply to this post. I also HATED the redundant system of reactivating the screen and I independently found screenmodewidget and am using it. But the BEST would be an app where touching the screen brings you to the slider screen and you slide to unlock, preferably with the screen turning off again very fast (~3 sec) if you don't unlock to save bat if it's accidentally activated. Anyone know an app for that?
     
Search tags for this page
droid 2 lock screen
,
droid 2 screen lock disable
,

droid screen lock

,
droid screen locked
,
droid screen locked and can not open
,
how do you disable the lock feature on a motorola phone
,
how to take screen lock of motorola droid razr m
,
motorola droid bluetooth lockscreen
,
screen lock disabled by administrator
,
undoing screen lock on droid 4