Lock Screen

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by jphudy, Nov 9, 2009.

  1. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,699
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. jsh1120

    jsh1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,407
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Ratings:
    +1
    Haven't read carefully through this whole thread but it appears that no one has mentioned "ScreenModeWidget" available in the Market. Has two options in addition to the default behavior.

    () Allows the screen to shut off but pressing the power button bypasses the lock screen.

    () Keeps the screen on all the time.

    I've had it on my Droid for several months and though I don't use it often it appears to work as advertised.

    P.S. It's free.
     
  3. DroidPDX

    DroidPDX Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's been mentioned. Read back.

    It's slightly quirky, but usually it changes modes by itself and all you have to do is touch the widget to set to AWAKE STAY, and it's good to go again.

    For what it's worth, for those of you criticizing the poster who said the mandated lock feature is really stupid, I agree with the poster. It's a huge pain in the ass to have to undergo two actions just to view your "computer". (I don't view this as a phone anymore, even though that's one of its many functions. It's a handheld computer to me). And both are awkward.

    Now that I've installed Screen Mode Widget, I love just having to hit that camera button to turn it on. That, to me, is ergonomically placed for vertical or horizontal use. The way it should be. (And no, I don't have accidental dials in my pocket. And even if I did, I'd rather have those than the lock screen. Why aren't there options?)
     
  4. hinky

    hinky Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Another example of utter incompetence at Motorola. They had no competition so they let the focus group and product testing procedures slide. Thankfully developers have worked hard to correct numerous Moto gaffes. HTC and others will have their way with Motorola if this continues. I think their new scaled down device serves absolutely no purpose. They'd have better just focused on the little but very important and commonly used features. No excuse for making a screen lock mandatory.
     
  5. GolfProRM

    GolfProRM Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you're going to start blaming companies for this, at least blame the right one. Motorola didn't implement the required lock and two-step unlock - Google did. Android doesn't straight-up support sleep without lock. Android phones all require two steps - a button push to wake up the screen, and then a slide unlock. In fact, I don't think I've ever owned a phone that didn't require at least two steps to unlock (without an app or hack to change it). My wife's Eris requires two steps to unlock it, and I find the button at the bottom front of the phone to be more awkward than the Droid's at the top.

    If you want to gripe about Moto's button placement, that's fine. I personally don't have a problem with it, and don't have trouble using the phone one-handed. They didn't have room to put it on the front of the phone (like HTC usually does), and putting it on the top left would have made it inoperable when in the multimedia dock. I think they put quite a bit of effort/testing into it actually. It may not be the way you want it, but that's why there are 100's of phones on the market.
     
  6. hinky

    hinky Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fine - they both suck, especially for version 2. It's a phone first, not a search engine. :)
     
  7. GolfProRM

    GolfProRM Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Ratings:
    +0
    The logical response to that is if you don't like it, don't buy the phone. :) There are plenty of phones out there that are "phones first." :)
     
  8. DroidPDX

    DroidPDX Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Ratings:
    +0
    I disagree wholeheartedly with that. If you want just a phone, anything will do.

    The Droid is a handheld computer first which happens to have a phone.

    I think they will cease calling handheld devices like these "phones" --or "smartphones" -- at some point.
     
  9. slinky

    slinky Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well that's why I think you 1000% off base. If the Droid is a computer that happens to have a phone, then get Dell to sell them. If the Droid is supposed to be a smartphone which is a Phone with integrated contacts, calendar and an OS, then it is supposed to function as a phone FIRST... and which is why it is sold on a wireless communications provider that sells mobile phone service, e.g. Verizon, AT&T, etc. They sold me a phone... did they not? Or at least that is what they are calling the Droid.
     
  10. ely_az

    ely_az New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Solution

    If you read this thread and were disappointed like I was I just wanted to say that I have installed the "Screen Mode Widget Lite" from the marketplace and it works great on my Droid. I am using the DroidMod.org ROM but I doubt that makes any difference. I have it set to "Protect Volume/camera key" and those keys do not wake up the phone. Now I just press the power button to turn the screen on and do not have to also use the slider unlock. It does not seem to have messed up my search of home buttons and has been running for 2 days straight without having to reset anything. I recommend this app to solve the 2 step unlock problem.
     
  11. Dragon3463

    Dragon3463 Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    The Droid is a computer phone, is has a procressor and ram. It may not be a laptop running windows or mac. But it is in a sense a computer. People talk on here sometimes without thinking...LOL..


    But yes Droid is a computer and a phone!!!
     
  12. err.peer

    err.peer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sometimes my lock screen will lag when being unlocked. Not sure if it's related, but the faded out wallpaper on the lockscreen also sometimes shows the origial Razr wallpaper, not the custom wallpaper I selected. Most of the time the lockscreen is smooth as butta. What gives?
     
Search tags for this page
droid 2 lock screen
,
droid 2 screen lock disable
,

droid screen lock

,
droid screen locked
,
droid screen locked and can not open
,
how do you disable the lock feature on a motorola phone
,
how to take screen lock of motorola droid razr m
,
motorola droid bluetooth lockscreen
,
screen lock disabled by administrator
,
undoing screen lock on droid 4